1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

First Time Taco Owner

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by TD2, Mar 10, 2010.

1. Mar 10, 2010 at 12:53 PM
    TD2

TD2 [OP] Member

Member:
    First Name:
    ID
    Montana
    Vehicle:
    01 SR5 DBL Cab V6
    Hello All,

I've been a long time Toyota Driver and have finally stepped up to a Tacoma.

I managed to score an 01 4wd V6 Double Cab with one owner and in great shape. I'm not usually one to work on my vehicles but this truck is one that I'd like to do the work on when possible.

Here's my list of questions.

1) Never changed anything but oil before, so what's my best bet for a manual on how to change all the fluids, plugs, and other easy items.

2) I know the plugs were all changed 3k along with the oil prior to my purchase. So I was thinking I should first do the Trans, and Diff oils since I have no record of them being changed. What special tools are needed?

3) When starting is it normal for it to take about 5 seconds to turn over?

4) Does anyone have a parts truck with a Tan interior that I can get some trim pieces from or know the best way to obtain these cheaply? Mainly the drivers side window/door control bezel and the radio/a/c bezel.

5) Rust? I had the frame inspection done and all is well. But there is quite a bit of under-body rust so I'd like to know what is the best way to remove and or protect the remaining life of the truck?

6) Lubrication? - Where and what needs to be lubricated on the truck other then my squeaky doors?