Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 1st Gen. Tacomas

Notices

on board air for air tools

Referenced Products Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-14-2010, 03:28 AM   #1
shampoop has much to be proud ofshampoop has much to be proud ofshampoop has much to be proud ofshampoop has much to be proud ofshampoop has much to be proud ofshampoop has much to be proud ofshampoop has much to be proud ofshampoop has much to be proud of
shampoop's Tacoma Gallery
on board air for air tools

so i was wondering if anybody has ever done an on board air setup geared more towards use for air tools rather than only airing up tires.

the big issues i'm thinking about are

1. how is it actually using a 2-5 gallon tank and a 12v compressor for automotive work (impacts, small grinders, etc.)? i've never used a small compressor or tank before.

2. how large of a tank can you fit under a 1st gen while keeping the factory spare in place?

3. how much would a project like this cost most likely using a compressor good enough to last for years and years on weekend hobby duty?

i'm sure someone must have done a project like this before, if not in a tacoma, maybe some other kind of compact truck like a ranger or s10 perhaps. maybe a magazine article? and the reason i'm interested in this instead of just getting a normal compressor is that i won't have a good permanent place to work on cars for a long time. and even once i do, having a mobile workstation would still be great
Old 09-14-2010, 05:52 AM   #2