1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

New Tires/brakes/rotors help please

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by Maina, Mar 28, 2011.

1. Mar 28, 2011 at 9:40 AM
    Maina

Maina [OP] New Member

Member:
    I am new to Tacoma World and I actually don't own one. I logged in because I am doing my sister-in-law a favor. She is very low on money and hasn't inspected her car in a few years. I.E. she is driving the car illegally. I found out because I saw that her tires were bald. It turns out her brakes have 100k miles on them as well. She has a 2003 Tacoma 4WD, not sure of the engine size. I would like to do all the maintenance items required that I can in one weekend and would like suggestions on if I am doing the right things.

Replace Tires - found a set of used tires from a co-worker Dunlop AT20 Grand Trek with around 2k miles on them for $250. I know these don't have a great rating, but they are better than bald tires.

Replace Oil - would like to go with synthetic because I don't think she changes her oil, but not sure if putting synthetic this late in the game into an engine will help. Need long lasting oil. I may actually run one batch of oil thru it for a few minutes, then drain it and put in new oil, just to get rid of all the junk that may be in there.