1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

need help, my battery was stolen

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by cassieanneburke, Apr 12, 2011.

1. Apr 12, 2011 at 5:53 PM
    cassieanneburke

cassieanneburke [OP] New Member

Member:
    Vehicle:
    01 tacoma sr5
    Hi! My battery got stolen, and worse than that all of the cables leading to it were cut. I have zero mechanic experience and not very much money, and my manual doesn't give a good description of how to entirely replace the cables and terminals. I need a description of where the cables connect from the battery, and a good idea about how to do it. Anything would be helpful, thank you!
    -C

2. Apr 12, 2011 at 6:55 PM
    Jerry Bear

Jerry Bear Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Jerry
    Mesquite, Texas
    Vehicle:
    2010 Access Cab
    tint, topper, receiver hitch, trailer wiring, topper lighting, cruise control, intermittent wipers, backup camera, auto-dim mirror
    Sorry about your truck.

It shouldn't be too bad to fix. You will need a battery, a positive battery cable, a negative battery cable, and maybe a new battery holddown, if they broke that, too.

Just go to the auto parts store and tell them what you need. They should have, or should be able to get, replacement cables with the lugs and connectors already attached, so all you have to do is bolt them on. If you need a new holddown, take what's left of the old one to the auto parts store to help pick a new one.

For a 2001 Tacoma, the NAPA part numbers are:
    Positive cable: Belden 781135
    Negative cable: Belden 781104
    Holddown: don't know