Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 1st Gen. Tacomas

Notices

Rostra Cruise Control installation on 2002 V6 Auto

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-29-2011, 07:41 AM   #1
Sign Guy [OP] Sign Guy is offline
Member
Sign Guy will become famous soon enough
Name: Brian
Joined: Mar 2011, #52976
Location: Everett, WA
Gender: Dude
Posts: 66
Sign Guy's Tacoma Gallery
Thumbs up Rostra Cruise Control installation on 2002 V6 Auto

To get started with the cruise control install I scoured the net, different Toyota web sites but most of the information I got via the www.TacomaWorld.com forums (Thanks to member Krlang for his write up).

At first I wanted to just purchase a bunch of parts from a junked truck and put in or order the parts and install. Good thing I decided to just order an aftermarket unit as I later found out on my inner fender-well I did not have the proper wiring to just do a plug and play unit from the factory. I did check the right front kick panel and saw the correct wire harness there but that was about it.

The Victim

https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/phot...eat=directlink


The unit
https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/phot...eat=directlink



SoÖ I purchased a Rostra universal system from the cruise control connection (Rostra 250-1223 universal Cruise Control w/250-3742 switch). It arrived and I ran out to put it in. First job was to determine all the pin locations in the mechanical actuator unit.

https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/phot...eat=directlink



Pin #

1
Off

2
On

3
On

4
Off

5
Off

6
Off

7
Off

8
On

9
Off

10
On

11
On

12
Off

Edit - I have since changed one of the pins that does the reaction to button to happen faster. I'd have to look up which pin it is but this is something you can do on your own as to how you personally like it.

Next find a place to install the main mechanical unit in the engine bay. I decided on the left side and thought itíd go perfect with the extra spot on the throttle linkage pulley made especially for a cruise control. Low and behold the Rostra unit does NOT hook up to that, hmmmmÖ.??? Strange? I finally got it figured out and will revise it later to hook up on the regular throttle linkage like I feel it should be.

Engine Bay
https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/phot...eat=directlink



Engine w/actuator unit installed
https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/phot...eat=directlink



Hook up to the throttle assembly
https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/phot...eat=directlink



Now, I needed to find a place to pull the wires through the engine bay, to the inside of the cabin. Iím looking at the firewall and low and behold there is a plug in the firewall just to the left of the power-brake booster. I pulled that rascal out and got into the cab and could see daylight so perfect. I shoved the wires through, hooked up the cable to the throttle linkage and was basically done in the front of the truck. (I cut a few gashes in the plug so that it would wrap around the wires fairly tightly.)

https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/phot...eat=directlink




There are 2 wires (solid gray & solid blue) that were supposed to hook up the VSS (Variable Speed Sensor) and the other to the Tachometer. According to the manual the VSS was on the back fire-wall (mine was not). After consulting with Sheldon (a Tech from Rostra) I was told the VSS was actually inside the cabin, right side in the dashboard behind the glove box & airbag.

A little removing of a few things is involved here. First remove the glove box. Next a duct and a few other things.

https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/phot...eat=directlink


https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/phot...eat=directlink




My Tacoma had the infamous dash rattle and I figured if I was going to tear apart part of the dash for the cruise control, letís just tear it ALL APART and fix that darn rattle too! So thatís what I did, just tear everything out.

Of course this made hooking up the other wires that much easier. Behind the airbag on the far right bank of wire hookups (to the Electronic Control Unit) is a bunch of wires, splice into those and find the Green w/Orange stripe wire (that is the VSS wire) that you need to splice into. The tach wire is to be left alone on the Automatic, donít bother to even hook it up (from Sheldon at Rostra).

Next, the positive and negative wires that go to the brake linkage. The instructions indicated that the green/red stripe was positive and the green/white stripe was the negative. I crawled around under the dash and saw the brake switch and no green/red wire but there was a green/yellow. I hooked them up and finally had one more wire to do, a power (brown wire) to the accessory area of the fuse box. I got it all hooked up and took it for a spin (Iíll spare you my screw-ups) remember to plug in the brake switch connection before you take off .

Just get it up and running, you can make changes later. My unit takes a few seconds to spool up (press button the speed drops then pulls back up to where you initially set it) and makes a funny whine (that I can hear when going around 30-35 mph). At higher speeds I canít hear it, but Iím sure it makes the same noise.

Now go enjoy that new tool for the long cruises youíll be doing


I have photos here with some explanations. You can blow up the picts and see what I wrote if need be. https://picasaweb.google.com/1065762...81640153488290

I'll load more later. I got other stuff to do right now.


Brian in Everett
The Sign Guy
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 08:01 AM   #2
Member
markveneris is a jewel in the roughmarkveneris is a jewel in the roughmarkveneris is a jewel in the roughmarkveneris is a jewel in the rough
Marines:
Name: mark
Joined: Jan 2010, #30069
Location: germany
Gender: Male
Posts: 46
markveneris's Tacoma Gallery
You Rock! Any hints on to how you know if you can do a plug and play?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 09:04 AM   #3
Sign Guy [OP] Sign Guy is offline
Member
Sign Guy will become famous soon enough
Name: Brian
Joined: Mar 2011, #52976
Location: Everett, WA
Gender: Dude
Posts: 66
Sign Guy's Tacoma Gallery
I'd check your plugs on the right fenderwell. I had one plug and thought for sure it was for the factory cruise control then I did some hunting around the net and looked at factory manuals, with technical diagrams, etc. My taco does not have ABS or cruise - kinda stripped down even though it's an SE5 PreRunner (or drugrunner as I call it because there was a bag of dope in it when I looked at it at the Stealer - doh!)

Anyway, back to the diagrams... I determined that the plug for the ABS was on the fender but no plug for CC as it had either more or less wires. I'd check to see if you have 2 plugs sitting out there, if so then you might be able to install a factory unit.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 10:07 AM   #4
Trail Runner/Barefoot Beach Runner/Snow Skier
The Driver is one of the sharper tools in the shedThe Driver is one of the sharper tools in the shedThe Driver is one of the sharper tools in the shedThe Driver is one of the sharper tools in the shedThe Driver is one of the sharper tools in the shedThe Driver is one of the sharper tools in the shedThe Driver is one of the sharper tools in the shedThe Driver is one of the sharper tools in the shedThe Driver is one of the sharper tools in the shedThe Driver is one of the sharper tools in the shedThe Driver is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Army: 94B/76Y Medical Honorable Discharge
Name: Raph, and I'm from Tampa, FL.
Joined: Dec 2011, #68618
Location: Lakewood (Bear Creek), CO. I'm from Tampa. If I was from "Tampa Bay" I'd be a fish!
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,779
The Driver's Tacoma Gallery
Subscribed!


I just bought an '02 4WD TRD, and found out the HARD WAY that it didn't have cruise...

Like AFTER I bought it, and I was on the freeway and I started to look to activate the cruise hard way...
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 05:26 AM   #5
Sign Guy [OP] Sign Guy is offline
Member
Sign Guy will become famous soon enough
Name: Brian
Joined: Mar 2011, #52976
Location: Everett, WA
Gender: Dude
Posts: 66
Sign Guy's Tacoma Gallery
Yeah the bastids that I bought mine from said the same thing and when we took it for a test drive I said, "Hey! Where's the cruise control??? It says in the add it has CC?" The sales drone looked at me like deer in the headlights.

You can buy my truck now, I'm putting it up for sale, just to small for what I need (unfortunate since I've done a ton of work to it cause I planned on keeping it forever). Oh and it does have CC ;-)
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 06:06 AM   #6
Trail Runner/Barefoot Beach Runner/Snow Skier
The Driver is one of the sharper tools in the shedThe Driver is one of the sharper tools in the shedThe Driver is one of the sharper tools in the shedThe Driver is one of the sharper tools in the shedThe Driver is one of the sharper tools in the shedThe Driver is one of the sharper tools in the shedThe Driver is one of the sharper tools in the shedThe Driver is one of the sharper tools in the shedThe Driver is one of the sharper tools in the shedThe Driver is one of the sharper tools in the shedThe Driver is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Army: 94B/76Y Medical Honorable Discharge
Name: Raph, and I'm from Tampa, FL.
Joined: Dec 2011, #68618
Location: Lakewood (Bear Creek), CO. I'm from Tampa. If I was from "Tampa Bay" I'd be a fish!
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,779
The Driver's Tacoma Gallery
^Already bought one... Honestly I'm not even sure that the add said CC, I just assume that a vehicle built in '02 would have cc, but ya know what happens when you ASSume...
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2011, 01:48 AM   #7
-FURY FROM THE SKY
95Yota4x4 is on a distinguished road
 
95Yota4x4's Avatar
Army: Infantry, 4 1/2 yrs 82nd Airborne, 3 yrs Drill Sergeant duty
Name: J.D.
Joined: Dec 2011, #68823
Location: Houston, Tx
Gender: Male
Posts: 51
95Yota4x4's Tacoma Gallery
might be a dumb question but can this be done on a Manual Trans?
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 09:02 AM   #8
Member
B ryan is on a distinguished road
Name: Bryan
Joined: Oct 2011, #65735
Location: Washington
Gender: Male
Posts: 51
B ryan's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by 95Yota4x4 View Post
might be a dumb question but can this be done on a Manual Trans?
Yes. Mine is a manual and has cc.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 09:45 PM   #9
Senior Member
beedoola is one of the sharper tools in the shedbeedoola is one of the sharper tools in the shedbeedoola is one of the sharper tools in the shedbeedoola is one of the sharper tools in the shedbeedoola is one of the sharper tools in the shedbeedoola is one of the sharper tools in the shedbeedoola is one of the sharper tools in the shedbeedoola is one of the sharper tools in the shedbeedoola is one of the sharper tools in the shedbeedoola is one of the sharper tools in the shedbeedoola is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
beedoola's Avatar
Joined: Jun 2011, #57615
Location: San Francisco, CA
Gender: Male
Posts: 256
beedoola's Tacoma Gallery
bumping this, hope not one minds

I have an 01' Prerunner and I was hoping this could be done.

How much does the CC setup cost? What does the actual control look like and where do you mount it?
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 08:07 PM   #10
Senior Member
nswsparky is on a distinguished road
Name: Chad
Joined: Jul 2012, #83315
Location: Minnesota
Gender: Male
Posts: 101
nswsparky's Tacoma Gallery
The kit I found is the audio vox kit it is $180 w/controls. I put the same unit in my Cherokee about 5 years ago it worked well for many years till it got dirty and quit. But the same thing happened to me I left Denver, after I bought it, on my way home to Minnesota looked all over for it... Dang no cruse. Come on its a '03 with power windows and locks, CD player, TRD package, why no cruse. The Audio Vox unit can be hooked up to only read and react to the RPM's so I am just going to hook that up so I can apply the throttle, set the cruse, and take off from a steep hill from a stop. That is how all the cruses work on all of our international bucket trucks and cranes at work. It is not as exact as reading the VSS, but it keeps it close enough to the same speed.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 07:10 AM   #11
Junior Member
turbotaco is on a distinguished road
Joined: Oct 2012, #90019
Gender: Male
Posts: 1
turbotaco's Tacoma Gallery
good stuff! I am too thinking of buying this cruise control, but was curious on reliability of it... since you had this for about a year, how is it holding up?

Any problems?

I'm going to buy this one: http://www.redline360.com/rostra-uni...ntrol-250-1223 and it says for manual trans you may need a clutch switch. did you end up needing one?

thanks for the help
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 09:39 PM   #12
Sign Guy [OP] Sign Guy is offline
Member
Sign Guy will become famous soon enough
Name: Brian
Joined: Mar 2011, #52976
Location: Everett, WA
Gender: Dude
Posts: 66
Sign Guy's Tacoma Gallery
Thumbs up

I haven't driven my taco much this year as it's just to small for what I need - need to sell it after I did a ton of work to it . Anyway, I recently drove it to Montana and set the cruise about 85 and it worked awesome there and back (about 1000 miles). It has no problem keeping up while on about any kind of hill. The V6 just kicks a$h and purrs like a kitten.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 08:59 PM   #13
Junior Member
Fanman47 is on a distinguished road
Name: Luke
Joined: Jan 2014, #120390
Location: Texas
Gender: Male
Posts: 29
Fanman47's Tacoma Gallery
Sorry to bump and old post but I bought a 2001 tacoma that has this aftermarket cruise control. Now the light does not come on and the cruise control does not work. What should I check? My mechanic unplugged some wires from the drive side fuse area to remove the alarm. Could he of pulled a wire he should not of?
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2002 Double Cab TRD, SR5, 4WD, Auto, 3.4 V6 CNEDEER 1st Gen Tacoma Marketplace 47 07-02-2011 12:16 PM
WTB: 98-00 v6 Cruise Control and folding mirrors IamHimeros Buy / Sell / Trade 1 02-23-2011 04:32 AM
WTB: Cruise control unit(underhood) 3.4l, auto. takomafan Buy / Sell / Trade 0 11-14-2010 05:47 AM
2002 Tacoma Cruise Control Trcka6 Technical Chat 0 07-20-2010 08:58 AM
Auto-On Cruise Control? sliverworm 2nd Gen. Tacomas 19 02-12-2009 05:30 AM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.