Notices

Front solid axle swap?

Old 05-28-2007, 03:47 AM   #1
Offroad Enthusiast
BrianPK is on a distinguished road
BrianPK's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to BrianPK
Front solid axle swap?

has anyone done this? i went wheelin today with some jeepers... one who i trust said i'd benefit from a "44"?

i'm still new at this, but i'd like to beable to hit some class 5 trails without killing myself...

other suggestions?
Old 05-28-2007, 08:13 AM   #2
The TW 1%
ForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shedForeRunner is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Coast Guard: Chief Petty Officer, ITC
Name: Drunken Sailor
ForeRunner's Tacoma Gallery
Where do you live. And yes a Solid axle does have it's benefits, more travel than IFS. If you do end up doing it don't go with a Dana 44 go with a Dana 60. It will also be pretty expensive.

Check out this guy. 2001 Tacoma w/ SAS
Old 05-28-2007, 11:55 AM   #3
Offroad Enthusiast
BrianPK is on a distinguished road
BrianPK's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to BrianPK
I live in central california. the trail i want to tackle is the rubicon trail. i've never been on something so rough...

that site is perfect... mine's an 01
Old 05-28-2007, 12:57 PM   #4
Carolina Alliance: Warheads On Foreheads Division
MarkC is on a distinguished road

Air Force: AGE (aerospace ground equipment) mechanic
Name: Mark
MarkC's Tacoma Gallery
check out http://www.tacomaterritory.com those guys have all the answers
Old 09-23-2007, 07:51 PM   #5