1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Radiator Fluid Flush Question

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by CarlosinFL, Aug 15, 2011.

1. Aug 15, 2011 at 9:51 AM
    CarlosinFL

CarlosinFL [OP] Mildly-Attractive

Member:
    First Name:
    Carlos
    Orlando, FL
    Vehicle:
    02 PreRunner SR5
    I'm wanting to flush and change my radiator fluid this weekend. It's an odd nasty rust color and it needs to be done but I've never done this before. Do I just drain the radiator and fill it back up with new stuff or should I run the hose through it while the engine is running to get stuff out of the engine? Is there a method to doing something like this or just better to have it done by a professional?

2. Aug 15, 2011 at 11:18 AM
    clothar

clothar Well-Known Member

Member:
    Vancouver
    Vehicle:
    98 V6 4WD Xtra Cab Limited
    Hey i just did this recently when my coolant looked like chocolate milk when it came out.

It wasn't too bad of a job just time consuming and tedious. I was one of the first things i did on my truck without having any auto related experience. So, people on the forum may have better advice.

The technique i used for doing the flush was to drain out all the coolant from the radiator and the white plastic tank tank. I could not for the life of me figure out where the drain value on the engine was.

From what i've read tho most people can't find it and just flush without draining from the engine block. It will still flush the coolant in the engine block. I'll explain that later.