Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 1st Gen. Tacomas

Notices

Transmission swap

Old 01-09-2012, 01:22 PM   #1
takamineman is on a distinguished road
Name: greg
takamineman's Tacoma Gallery
Transmission swap

Is it realistic to even think about swapping my auto for a manual transmission? When I bought my truck I was driving a big truck every day--so I didn't really want a manual. Now that I don't drive a big truck every day, I sure would love to have a manual. I'm a pretty good mechanic but would this be totally stupid?
Old 01-09-2012, 01:28 PM   #2
TW's Official anti body-lift pundit
TacoMX is one of the sharper tools in the shedTacoMX is one of the sharper tools in the shedTacoMX is one of the sharper tools in the shedTacoMX is one of the sharper tools in the shedTacoMX is one of the sharper tools in the shedTacoMX is one of the sharper tools in the shedTacoMX is one of the sharper tools in the shedTacoMX is one of the sharper tools in the shedTacoMX is one of the sharper tools in the shedTacoMX is one of the sharper tools in the shedTacoMX is one of the sharper tools in the shed

EMS: Paramedic
Name: Jonathan
TacoMX's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by takamineman View Post
Is it realistic to even think about swapping my auto for a manual transmission? When I bought my truck I was driving a big truck every day--so I didn't really want a manual. Now that I don't drive a big truck every day, I sure would love to have a manual. I'm a pretty good mechanic but would this be totally stupid?
Its very possible. A lot of work and $$$, but very possible indeed.
Old 01-09-2012, 01:29 PM   #3
Longtime Toyman