View Poll Results: Color Matched Canopy *VS* Black Tool Box
Color matched canopy 18 60.00%
Black "slim" tool box 12 40.00%
Voters: 30. You may not vote on this poll

Old 01-12-2012, 05:21 PM   #1
Proud Canadian
04tacomaSR5 is on a distinguished road

04tacomaSR5's Tacoma Gallery
Exclamation Canopy VS. Tool Bed Box....thoughts...

So I've come to another fork in the road when it comes to storage... should I stick with the canopy or go with a black tool box??

Canopy:
Pros: full bed coverage, colour matched, looks great, secures rear window from being broken into etc...
Cons: can't access box from sides, heavy, limits visibility

Tool box:
Pros: looks great, better security for tools/equipment (I'm a carpenter), lighter than canopy, etc.
Cons: doesn't secure full bed, leaves rear window open to be broken into, etc.

I currently have the colour matched insulated leer canopy.

So what are your thoughts and opinions on what the best way to go is...
Old 01-12-2012, 08:10 PM   #2
haddix will become famous soon enoughhaddix will become famous soon enough

haddix's Tacoma Gallery
Canopy and it' not even close IMO. So much more versatility with the topper. Keep what ya got.
Old 01-12-2012, 09:23 PM   #3
shampoop has much to be proud ofshampoop has much to be proud ofshampoop has much to be proud ofshampoop has much to be proud ofshampoop has much to be proud ofshampoop has much to be proud ofshampoop has much to be proud ofshampoop has much to be proud of
shampoop's Tacoma Gallery
All depends on your uses. I was in the same boat for a while. I ended up realizing a tool box suits me much better for a few main reasons.

- A good brand toolbox actually keeps the contents safe. Cheap toolboxes and canopies are easy to break into and I regularly put expensive tools in my box.

- My friends tacoma has a canopy and I HATE HATE HATE backing up at night with it on. You cannot see behind your truck at all.