Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 1st Gen. Tacomas

Notices

97 Tacoma misfire

Old 01-25-2012, 09:21 AM   #1
swapdip is on a distinguished road
swapdip's Tacoma Gallery
97 Tacoma misfire

Hello I am helping a friend out with his 97 Tacoma 4cyl. He noticed on a recent trip that it started to misfire at high speeds, had a lopey idle, and was a little underpowered. Also the check engine light started coming on. I pulled a plug wire and noticed he had a orange/yellowish spark (weak), across all cylinders. Local auto parts place read the CEL code and read that there was a misfire on cyl 2.

I had a Dodge Dakota once with the same problem, after replacing all the sensors I threw in a used ECU and it ran just fine. Is this what we need to do for this truck? I noted there are 2 coils (this is my first time working on a tacoma) and the fact that there is weak spark from both of them indicates to me that it is probably not a coil problem. Are there any sensors that would cause this? Common faulty wiring connections?

Many thanks for any insight.
Old 01-25-2012, 09:24 AM   #2
:POOPCORN:
98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed98tacoma27 is one of the sharper tools in the shed

Marines:
Name: Ben
98tacoma27's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by swapdip View Post