Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 1st Gen. Tacomas

Notices

1996 tacoma 3.4--What year engines will fit?

Old 02-10-2012, 08:19 PM   #1
bigbucks is on a distinguished road
bigbucks's Tacoma Gallery
1996 tacoma 3.4--What year engines will fit?

Hello to all. I have been driving Toyota trucks for over 11 years now, and I have run a body shop for 19 years so I have some experience in the field. I recently purchased a 96 Tacoma 4X4 ext cab with the 3.4L. Like so many others it had bad head gaskets, and I think the previous owner let it get hot (probably many times), and probably cracked the heads. When I bought it there was water in the oil and it was chuggin' tons of white smoke. But the price was right so I limped it home. Well she locked up in my driveway so instead of rebuilding the heads I am just going to try to find a used engine. I know that the 3.4s are the same from 95 to 99, but the block is the same up to 04. My question is, what is the difference in the 2000 to 2004 engines? Are the heads completely different or is it just the electronics and maybe intake?

Thank you in advance for any answers!

Kevin
Old 02-10-2012, 08:37 PM   #2
Phuket is one of the sharper tools in the shedPhuket is one of the sharper tools in the shedPhuket is one of the sharper tools in the shedPhuket is one of the sharper tools in the shedPhuket is one of the sharper tools in the shedPhuket is one of the sharper tools in the shedPhuket is one of the sharper tools in the shedPhuket is one of the sharper tools in the shedPhuket is one of the sharper tools in the shedPhuket is one of the sharper tools in the shedPhuket is one of the sharper tools in the shed

Name: Travis
Phuket's Tacoma Gallery
i heard of a guy putting an LS1 in his truck, but idk about the engine differences.
Old 02-10-2012, 08:46 PM   #3