1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Need to stop the alarm from going off

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by haneth, Mar 4, 2012.

1. Mar 4, 2012 at 10:08 AM
    haneth

haneth [OP] Member

Member:
    I know, I know; total noob. My girlfriend is in Hawaii with family (grrr) and here I am changing her fuel filter and oil. Per a fine recommendation on this site yesterday, I disconnected the battery in order to change the fuel filter. After that, I started it up, took a test drive, returned home and locked it up. As I go to unlock it this morning to change the oil, the alarm goes off. Trying everything to no avail, I pull the pos battery cable and it, of course, stops.
    How do I reset this?
    Thanks.

2. Mar 4, 2012 at 10:13 AM
    joes06tacoma

joes06tacoma Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Joe
    Central Coast, CA
    Vehicle:
    06 4x4 Off Road Access Cab v6 6spd
    LEER Shell with dome lights operated with 3 way switches, aux backup lights with relay and 3 position switch, modified wiring to compass/temp display and clock to include switch that disables dimming function (poor man's DRL solution), Scan Gauge 2
    Aftermarket alarm? Is there a remote for it?

If it's aftermarket and you don't have the remote for some reason, I'd just disconnect it. They are usually just stashed under the dash and easy to defeat.

If it's factory......well, hopefully someone on here will see this and know what to do.

3. Mar 4, 2012 at 10:15 AM
    haneth

haneth [OP] Member

Member:
    No fob. I am assuming it is aftermarket.

4. Mar 4, 2012 at 10:27 AM
    joes06tacoma