LSC15's 95 Tacoma 4x4

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 1st Gen. Tacomas

Notices

A/C help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-26-2012, 02:04 PM   #1
turttletoy [OP] turttletoy is offline
Member
turttletoy will become famous soon enough
Joined: Jul 2010, #40582
Location: Overland Park, KS
Gender: Male
Posts: 83
turttletoy's Tacoma Gallery
A/C help

My idler pulley went out several months ago. I just now got around to replacing it. After replacing it a/c still doesn't work. fuse is still good. and before the pulley went out the a/c worked. compressor isn't locked up. i'm stumped and need help.

If it matters, I have a '00 v6......thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 07:11 AM   #2
Senior Member
twfsa is one of the sharper tools in the shedtwfsa is one of the sharper tools in the shedtwfsa is one of the sharper tools in the shedtwfsa is one of the sharper tools in the shedtwfsa is one of the sharper tools in the shedtwfsa is one of the sharper tools in the shedtwfsa is one of the sharper tools in the shedtwfsa is one of the sharper tools in the shedtwfsa is one of the sharper tools in the shedtwfsa is one of the sharper tools in the shedtwfsa is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Army: Engineer's
Name: Tom
Joined: May 2010, #37997
Location: Omaha Ne
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,322
twfsa's Tacoma Gallery
Maybe its just needs a little R134A, I bought a can with the hose and gauge ( Wal-Mart $38 ) on it my Civic wasn't blowing cold air, gave it a shot of freon and seems to be fine. It was a no brainer hook up took all of 10 mins.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 07:39 AM   #3
turttletoy [OP] turttletoy is offline
Member
turttletoy will become famous soon enough
Joined: Jul 2010, #40582
Location: Overland Park, KS
Gender: Male
Posts: 83
turttletoy's Tacoma Gallery
I have ab ac machine at work. I'm gonna try that when I go back. Just kinda confused why I worked fine before and now it doesn't after I replaced those parts.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 12:26 PM   #4
Senior Member
koco is on a distinguished road
 
koco's Avatar
Joined: May 2012, #79503
Location: Bay Area Ca.
Gender: Male
Posts: 239
koco's Tacoma Gallery
If there is no pressure in the system the pressure safety switch will disconnect the system. Take the cap off the line and give it a poke to see if there's gas in the system. I don't know why an idler pulley would cause a leak, but it's worth checking out. If your ac clutch is not operating, the ac won't come on. You could check for voltage at the 2 clutch wires. With the engine running you should hear the ac clutch click when you turn the system on. Between these 2 checks you can find out a lot.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 10:40 AM   #5
turttletoy [OP] turttletoy is offline
Member
turttletoy will become famous soon enough
Joined: Jul 2010, #40582
Location: Overland Park, KS
Gender: Male
Posts: 83
turttletoy's Tacoma Gallery
Thanks for the help. Both of you are right. For some reason I had 0 freon in the system. When I took the cap off the CS it was leaking. But when I recharged the system it sealed itself again. I just don't get why it would lose all its freon in the first place. Like I said, everything was working perfect before I disconnected the belt due to a bad idler pulley.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.