Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 1st Gen. Tacomas

Notices

ECU Reset

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-20-2012, 11:25 AM   #1
Yep
buzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
buzzard1992's Avatar
Name: Alex
Joined: Sep 2010, #43343
Location: Summerville, SC
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,368
buzzard1992's Tacoma Gallery
ECU Reset

Okay i have a 2001 tacoma with the 3.4. my transmisson has been shifting down into first kinda hard when comin to a stop (automatic) i started noticing this about 2 months ago. right before i started to notice this i had a guy weld my exhaust bracket back on and he didnt reset my battery. when i got in the truck none of my gauges worked. it took about 10 minutes before they started workin again. i then noticed the transmission was shiftin rough back into 1st. i have been told by several people, a few on here, that i should reset my ECU and it should fix it. i talked to toyota and they said the same. But the said i would need to bring it in to the dealership to get it done. Im sure its gonna be expensive for them to do. and they said i couldnt do it myself. They said disconnecting the battery would not solve my problem. Does anyone have any thoughts on whether i should just take it to toyota or if you know a way to reset it without takin it to toyota. Any help is really appreciated, thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 11:36 AM   #2
Yep
buzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
buzzard1992's Avatar
Name: Alex
Joined: Sep 2010, #43343
Location: Summerville, SC
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,368
buzzard1992's Tacoma Gallery
Ive got it disconnected right now. even though they told me it wouldnt fix it. So we'll see. I just wanted to know if there was another way or if people thought this would fix my issue
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 11:39 AM   #3
Senior Member
koco is on a distinguished road
 
koco's Avatar
Joined: May 2012, #79503
Location: Bay Area Ca.
Gender: Male
Posts: 240
koco's Tacoma Gallery
Go into the fuse box under the hood on the driver's side and pull the ECU fuse out for 5 minutes, then put it in and run the truck for 5 min. without touching the throttle and with no lights, ac or anything turned on. After 5 minutes shut it off. Now the ECU has been reset.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 11:49 AM   #4
Yep
buzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
buzzard1992's Avatar
Name: Alex
Joined: Sep 2010, #43343
Location: Summerville, SC
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,368
buzzard1992's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by koco View Post
Go into the fuse box under the hood on the driver's side and pull the ECU fuse out for 5 minutes, then put it in and run the truck for 5 min. without touching the throttle and with no lights, ac or anything turned on. After 5 minutes shut it off. Now the ECU has been reset.
Are you sure it will reset it?

I just talked to another toyota dealer around here and they said they if i disconnect the battery it should fix it.
Anyone have any thoughts on if this will fix my issue?
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 11:55 AM   #5
Senior Member
koco is on a distinguished road
 
koco's Avatar
Joined: May 2012, #79503
Location: Bay Area Ca.
Gender: Male
Posts: 240
koco's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzard1992 View Post
Are you sure it will reset it?

I just talked to another toyota dealer around here and they said they if i disconnect the battery it should fix it.
Anyone have any thoughts on if this will fix my issue?
disconnecting the battery is ok. It's just that you lose the radio presets and such. That's why I pull the fuse to clear it.

Just make sure you run it for 5 min. then shut it off. That way the computer has a baseline to program with. It is best to do this with the truck all warmed up for the proper baseline.

If you sit and watch the tach during reset it will settle into its final idle at around 4-5 minutes.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 12:09 PM   #6
Yep
buzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
buzzard1992's Avatar
Name: Alex
Joined: Sep 2010, #43343
Location: Summerville, SC
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,368
buzzard1992's Tacoma Gallery
Okay I put the battery cables back on and took it for a test drive. So far so good. It hasnt done it yet
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 12:19 PM   #7
Yep
buzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbuzzard1992 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
buzzard1992's Avatar
Name: Alex
Joined: Sep 2010, #43343
Location: Summerville, SC
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,368
buzzard1992's Tacoma Gallery
I've run it up and down the road and come to a stop about 10 times. It's shifting better and isnt hard shiftin down to first anymore. Thanks for the helps guys
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speedometer reset twfsa Technical Chat 3 05-30-2011 07:38 AM
Computer Reset jblair 1st Gen. Tacomas 6 04-07-2011 05:44 PM
How do I reset my 2009 taco ecu? TodaGuy 2nd Gen. Tacomas 7 01-03-2010 05:27 PM
TPMS reset blubird Wheels & Tires 3 09-22-2009 10:05 PM
Computer reset? Aalders 2nd Gen. Tacomas 26 06-24-2009 06:56 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.