1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Gen 1 Tacoma project research.

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by xheader, Jun 20, 2012.

1. Jun 20, 2012 at 2:50 PM
    xheader

xheader [OP] Member

Member:
    Connecticut
    Vehicle:
    04 Xtra Taco
    Hello,

I'm a noob here...

I'm a Gen 1 Tacoma owner and I'm going to turn my beloved Taco into a project truck sometime in the near (or maybe not so near) future. What I'm starting to do is some research to make determinations on my design and build goals.

The first thing I'm stating is that I would like to keep the body close to stock, at least for the sake of a passing review. Second, I would like to use as many off-the-shelf, and ideally OE or direct OE replacement, parts as possible. Thirdly, I would like it to be capable of being a frequent (not quite daily though) driver. Fourthly, I would like to keep the vehicle as efficient and operationally economical as possible so I don't want to overbuild and overpower.

I'm currently assessing my past, present, and desired future off road usage to understand my specifications. Occasionally, I need to bear a load over long distances. Sometimes it's a short trip. In any case most of my offloading isn't "just to off road" but to get somewhere hard to access.

Should I stay with a spec frame, or should I build a new frame? I can shed weight by building tube frame out of 4130, but I would lose some of the desirable aspects of a carbon steel.