Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 1st Gen. Tacomas

Notices

Aftermarket Tach Install? Which wire to tap into?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-30-2012, 06:57 PM   #1
Senior Member
austinramsay is a splendid one to beholdaustinramsay is a splendid one to beholdaustinramsay is a splendid one to beholdaustinramsay is a splendid one to beholdaustinramsay is a splendid one to beholdaustinramsay is a splendid one to beholdaustinramsay is a splendid one to behold
 
austinramsay's Avatar
Name: Austin
Joined: Apr 2012, #76345
Location: Yuma, Arizona
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,417
austinramsay's Tacoma Gallery
Aftermarket Tach Install? Which wire to tap into?

Im installing an equus tach i got on craigslist that was still in the box brand new. I searched and found that you can use the black and yellow wire going into the ecu but id rather use a wire behind the cluster to connect it. Do i still use the black and yellow wire behind the cluster or is it going to be a different color?

Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 09:27 PM   #2
Senior Member
austinramsay is a splendid one to beholdaustinramsay is a splendid one to beholdaustinramsay is a splendid one to beholdaustinramsay is a splendid one to beholdaustinramsay is a splendid one to beholdaustinramsay is a splendid one to beholdaustinramsay is a splendid one to behold
 
austinramsay's Avatar
Name: Austin
Joined: Apr 2012, #76345
Location: Yuma, Arizona
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,417
austinramsay's Tacoma Gallery
Anyone?
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 01:23 AM   #3
Senior Member
austinramsay is a splendid one to beholdaustinramsay is a splendid one to beholdaustinramsay is a splendid one to beholdaustinramsay is a splendid one to beholdaustinramsay is a splendid one to beholdaustinramsay is a splendid one to beholdaustinramsay is a splendid one to behold
 
austinramsay's Avatar
Name: Austin
Joined: Apr 2012, #76345
Location: Yuma, Arizona
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,417
austinramsay's Tacoma Gallery
For future reference when searching.. I just took the green wire from the tach and plugged it into each port in the instrument cluster harnesses until i found the one that put out the rpm. Its the plain black wire that goes to the blue colored connecter. I cut it, stripped it and connected all the tach wire, and both split ends into a wire nut thingy and twisted them all together. I also used the power from the clock harness which worked fine this was on a 1996 tacoma btw
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 01:27 AM   #5
Senior Member
austinramsay is a splendid one to beholdaustinramsay is a splendid one to beholdaustinramsay is a splendid one to beholdaustinramsay is a splendid one to beholdaustinramsay is a splendid one to beholdaustinramsay is a splendid one to beholdaustinramsay is a splendid one to behold
 
austinramsay's Avatar
Name: Austin
Joined: Apr 2012, #76345
Location: Yuma, Arizona
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,417
austinramsay's Tacoma Gallery
Too late, i knew i was gonna forget to take pics while installing.. And i did. Its all back together already so i cant take any
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 01:28 AM   #6
Banned
whippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Christian
Joined: Dec 2009, #27905
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Age: 30
Gender: Dude
Posts: 35,289
whippersnapper02's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to whippersnapper02
Just the tach so people can see where you mounted it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 01:35 AM   #7
Senior Member
austinramsay is a splendid one to beholdaustinramsay is a splendid one to beholdaustinramsay is a splendid one to beholdaustinramsay is a splendid one to beholdaustinramsay is a splendid one to beholdaustinramsay is a splendid one to beholdaustinramsay is a splendid one to behold
 
austinramsay's Avatar
Name: Austin
Joined: Apr 2012, #76345
Location: Yuma, Arizona
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,417
austinramsay's Tacoma Gallery
Ohh haha ill post pics tmrw, its 12:30 already and im too lazy to go outside.. And ill get better daylight pics
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 01:43 AM   #8
Banned
whippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwhippersnapper02 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Name: Christian
Joined: Dec 2009, #27905
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Age: 30
Gender: Dude
Posts: 35,289
whippersnapper02's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to whippersnapper02
Do it meow!

No worries.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 01:47 AM   #9
Senior Member
austinramsay is a splendid one to beholdaustinramsay is a splendid one to beholdaustinramsay is a splendid one to beholdaustinramsay is a splendid one to beholdaustinramsay is a splendid one to beholdaustinramsay is a splendid one to beholdaustinramsay is a splendid one to behold
 
austinramsay's Avatar
Name: Austin
Joined: Apr 2012, #76345
Location: Yuma, Arizona
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,417
austinramsay's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by whippersnapper02 View Post
Do it meow!

No worries.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 01:49 AM   #10
Thin Blue Line
ProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
ProForce's Avatar
Name: Anthony
Joined: Oct 2009, #24205
Location: SoCal-Ontario
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 4,995
ProForce's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by austinramsay View Post
For future reference when searching.. I just took the green wire from the tach and plugged it into each port in the instrument cluster harnesses until i found the one that put out the rpm. Its the plain black wire that goes to the blue colored connecter. I cut it, stripped it and connected all the tach wire, and both split ends into a wire nut thingy and twisted them all together. I also used the power from the clock harness which worked fine this was on a 1996 tacoma btw


I HIGHLY recommend not using wire nuts for any vehicle application. They are designed for home electrical because bumps and lots of movement make them fall off very easily, and the little spring inside comes out easy. You can fry your cluster and even your ecu if that happens. Highly recommend taking it apart again and if you can solder, do that and cover with electrical tape and then zip tie, if not then at least use a butt (barrel) connector.

Not trying to bash you, just trying to give you a heads up for next time so dont take this personal. Just trying to help. Oh and also, very very bad things can happen by testing wires the way you did. I would try to avoid that by any means necessary. I knew an installer who broke his neck (paralyzed him) because he accidentally set off an the airbags by poking random wires like that. Several people have done thousands of dollars in damage like that. Just letting you know to be careful or pay to have it done right.

EDIT: one last thing... an aftermarket tach gauge im sure uses very very low power to run, so using power from your clock wire "should" be ok, but you have to keep in mind that different size wires are rated for different amounts of current and amperage. By connecting an accessory to another small accessory like a clock may not supply enough current through the oem wire. This results in the wire getting hot and starting electrical fires. Hope you used a small 5 or 10amp fuse (or even 2.5 maybe) when tapping power from your clock.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 11:28 AM   #11
Senior Member
austinramsay is a splendid one to beholdaustinramsay is a splendid one to beholdaustinramsay is a splendid one to beholdaustinramsay is a splendid one to beholdaustinramsay is a splendid one to beholdaustinramsay is a splendid one to beholdaustinramsay is a splendid one to behold
 
austinramsay's Avatar
Name: Austin
Joined: Apr 2012, #76345
Location: Yuma, Arizona
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,417
austinramsay's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProForce View Post


I HIGHLY recommend not using wire nuts for any vehicle application. They are designed for home electrical because bumps and lots of movement make them fall off very easily, and the little spring inside comes out easy. You can fry your cluster and even your ecu if that happens. Highly recommend taking it apart again and if you can solder, do that and cover with electrical tape and then zip tie, if not then at least use a butt (barrel) connector.

Not trying to bash you, just trying to give you a heads up for next time so dont take this personal. Just trying to help. Oh and also, very very bad things can happen by testing wires the way you did. I would try to avoid that by any means necessary. I knew an installer who broke his neck (paralyzed him) because he accidentally set off an the airbags by poking random wires like that. Several people have done thousands of dollars in damage like that. Just letting you know to be careful or pay to have it done right.

EDIT: one last thing... an aftermarket tach gauge im sure uses very very low power to run, so using power from your clock wire "should" be ok, but you have to keep in mind that different size wires are rated for different amounts of current and amperage. By connecting an accessory to another small accessory like a clock may not supply enough current through the oem wire. This results in the wire getting hot and starting electrical fires. Hope you used a small 5 or 10amp fuse (or even 2.5 maybe) when tapping power from your clock.
Oh thanks! I didnt know you shouldnt use wire nuts in cars.. Guess im gonna have to take it apart again So how would you find the correct wire to use without plugging it into each port?
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 11:59 AM   #12
Thin Blue Line
ProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shedProForce is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
ProForce's Avatar
Name: Anthony
Joined: Oct 2009, #24205
Location: SoCal-Ontario
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 4,995
ProForce's Tacoma Gallery
A wire schematic is ideal, but if not then you need a digital multi meter (dmm)
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
URD MAF Caibrator Install Help - Tach Wire Bobo_1 2nd Gen. Tacomas 1 06-09-2012 03:40 PM
Which wire to tap into for Rigid LED DRL's? 707tothe907 2nd Gen. Tacomas 0 02-08-2012 05:22 PM
Aftermarket Tach Install MASSYODA 1st Gen. Tacomas 0 05-20-2011 06:21 PM
Turn Signal Wire Tap Help Blacked Out TRD 2nd Gen. Tacomas 1 05-08-2010 01:51 AM
dome light wire tap decrowe Lighting 1 11-01-2009 05:21 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.