Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 1st Gen. Tacomas

Notices

Wiring up lights on roof

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-22-2012, 02:56 PM   #1
cr500taco [OP] cr500taco is offline
Senior Member
cr500taco will become famous soon enough
 
cr500taco's Avatar
Name: D
Joined: Apr 2012, #77062
Location: Northridge
Gender: Male
Posts: 369
cr500taco's Tacoma Gallery
Wiring up lights on roof

I have a Yakima basket on the roof of my '97 extra cab and have a couple of pairs of lights that I want to put on it, front and rear.

What's your suggestions on how to run the wires from the cab to the lights?
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 04:12 PM   #2
that was'nt a vitamin!!
pippen is one of the sharper tools in the shedpippen is one of the sharper tools in the shedpippen is one of the sharper tools in the shedpippen is one of the sharper tools in the shedpippen is one of the sharper tools in the shedpippen is one of the sharper tools in the shedpippen is one of the sharper tools in the shedpippen is one of the sharper tools in the shedpippen is one of the sharper tools in the shedpippen is one of the sharper tools in the shedpippen is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
pippen's Avatar
Name: Pippen
Joined: May 2011, #56205
Location: Eastern NC
Gender: Male
Posts: 645
pippen's Tacoma Gallery
If you made holes to mount the rack I'd make one more...but that might be a hassle seeing you would have to remove the headliner right?
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 12:46 PM   #3
cr500taco [OP] cr500taco is offline
Senior Member
cr500taco will become famous soon enough
 
cr500taco's Avatar
Name: D
Joined: Apr 2012, #77062
Location: Northridge
Gender: Male
Posts: 369
cr500taco's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by pippen View Post
If you made holes to mount the rack I'd make one more...but that might be a hassle seeing you would have to remove the headliner right?
Didn't make any holes to mount the rack. It is clipped on the door frames. And yeah, trying to avoid removing the headliner and drilling a hole in the roof if there's other options.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 12:52 PM   #4
Senior Member
TherealScuba is one of the sharper tools in the shedTherealScuba is one of the sharper tools in the shedTherealScuba is one of the sharper tools in the shedTherealScuba is one of the sharper tools in the shedTherealScuba is one of the sharper tools in the shedTherealScuba is one of the sharper tools in the shedTherealScuba is one of the sharper tools in the shedTherealScuba is one of the sharper tools in the shedTherealScuba is one of the sharper tools in the shedTherealScuba is one of the sharper tools in the shedTherealScuba is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
TherealScuba's Avatar
Name: Stephen
Joined: Mar 2012, #75781
Location: Austin, Texas
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,051
TherealScuba's Tacoma Gallery
Run the wires through the rear window seal.
Just take a flathead and pull the seal back a little bit. Once you shove the wires in you can push the seal back in.
I did this with the wire for my XM antenna. Never leaked.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 01:03 PM   #5
Senior Member
PcBuilder14 is one of the sharper tools in the shedPcBuilder14 is one of the sharper tools in the shedPcBuilder14 is one of the sharper tools in the shedPcBuilder14 is one of the sharper tools in the shedPcBuilder14 is one of the sharper tools in the shedPcBuilder14 is one of the sharper tools in the shedPcBuilder14 is one of the sharper tools in the shedPcBuilder14 is one of the sharper tools in the shedPcBuilder14 is one of the sharper tools in the shedPcBuilder14 is one of the sharper tools in the shedPcBuilder14 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
PcBuilder14's Avatar
Name: Brent
Joined: Jun 2011, #58522
Location: Missouri
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Posts: 18,910
PcBuilder14's Tacoma Gallery
I ran my wires up the seal of my driver side door. There's a gap/hole that you can run wiring under the hood, through the fender, and right up to the seal behind the door. Worked perfect for me.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 10:37 PM   #6
cr500taco [OP] cr500taco is offline
Senior Member
cr500taco will become famous soon enough
 
cr500taco's Avatar
Name: D
Joined: Apr 2012, #77062
Location: Northridge
Gender: Male
Posts: 369
cr500taco's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by PcBuilder14 View Post
I ran my wires up the seal of my driver side door. There's a gap/hole that you can run wiring under the hood, through the fender, and right up to the seal behind the door. Worked perfect for me.
I might just do it that way, thanks.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 10:43 PM   #7
Junior Member
kadeevans is on a distinguished road
Name: kade
Joined: Aug 2010, #41368
Location: east texas
Gender: Male
Posts: 10
kadeevans's Tacoma Gallery
what basket and mounts did you use
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 10:47 PM   #8
cr500taco [OP] cr500taco is offline
Senior Member
cr500taco will become famous soon enough
 
cr500taco's Avatar
Name: D
Joined: Apr 2012, #77062
Location: Northridge
Gender: Male
Posts: 369
cr500taco's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by kadeevans View Post
what basket and mounts did you use
It's a Yakima Loadwarrior on top of a Yakima rack. Don't have the basket on the rack right now, as I only put it on when I need it.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring lights to exsisting fog light wiring help bluetaco80 Lighting 20 09-20-2012 04:24 AM
Wiring Roof Lights tacomacrazy Lighting 8 10-07-2010 09:50 PM
Roof Rack Light Wiring Help JGJ 2nd Gen. Tacomas 5 03-16-2010 01:05 PM
best way of wiring and routing 4 Aux lights on 1st gen roof? NotstockTRD Lighting 20 12-08-2009 08:43 AM
lights on roof mrtrd103 Street Trucks 21 12-31-2008 02:13 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.