Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 1st Gen. Tacomas

Notices

Swapping Stepside for Fleetside Bed

Old 12-05-2012, 10:37 AM   #1
FishinTaco is on a distinguished road

Name: D'Arcy
FishinTaco's Tacoma Gallery
Swapping Stepside for Fleetside Bed

A couple of people asked so I thought I would post.
Swapping Stepside for Fleetside Bed-swap.jpg

Disclaimer, I'm not a mechanic nor did I know I was going to post, so my appologies on teminology and how detailed it is.

If you are looking for a box, I suggest searching car-parts.com as there are hundreds of boxes out there thanks to the rotting frames. All boxes for 1rst gens, fit 1rst gens, 1995.5 to 2004.

Mine was mint and I got it for 600 bucks!
Swapping Stepside for Fleetside Bed-new-box.jpgSwapping Stepside for Fleetside Bed-insidebox.jpg

1. Take of tail lights, it's just a few screws and some clips.
Swapping Stepside for Fleetside Bed-clips-tail-lights.jpg
3. Take of "ears" of the stepside bumper, no worries a regular bumper awaits under there! I've got it taped here to not scratch the new box. (pic is with new box but you get the idea)
Swapping Stepside for Fleetside Bed-bumpertaped.jpg
4. Remove other extras like fender flares (they will fit the fleetside) and tailgate as it will be easier to deal with
5. Remove gas tank collar, it is different and you will need one with your new fleetside box.
6. Undo the six bolts that hold your box to your frame and take the box off. Note, stepside box is a lot heaview than the reg box.
Swapping Stepside for Fleetside Bed-6-bolt-areas.jpg
7. place the new box on the frame, alligne it up and bolt it down.
Swapping Stepside for Fleetside Bed-p8100017.jpg
8. Put tailgate, lights and gas tank collar back on.
Swapping Stepside for Fleetside Bed-almost.jpg
9. Put your extras back on, like the fender flairs.
Swapping Stepside for Fleetside Bed-trd-decals.jpg