Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 1st Gen. Tacomas

Notices

shifting into 4wd help

Old 12-06-2012, 07:34 PM   #1
exwrx is on a distinguished road
exwrx's Tacoma Gallery
shifting into 4wd help

hi, asking for my dad. he has a 2002 tacoma ext cab trd automatic v6 4x4. we were out for a drive tonight and were trying to figure out the shift pattern. i believe the 4wd shifter has 4wd lo at the top, then neutral, the 4wd high at the bottom(closer to the back seat). there is a 4wd button on the shifter that acivates 4x4 (i think)... the gear shifter (p,r,n,d.3,2,1) has a over drive button on the side of it.

so was he doing it right? also what are safe speeds to enter 4x4 high and 4x4 low. thinking 60km/h for 4x4 high and 0 km/h for low in neutral.

thanks for the help!!
Old 12-07-2012, 02:25 AM   #2
Salesman by trade, Gentleman by habit
Mr. Biscuits is one of the sharper tools in the shedMr. Biscuits is one of the sharper tools in the shedMr. Biscuits is one of the sharper tools in the shedMr. Biscuits is one of the sharper tools in the shedMr. Biscuits is one of the sharper tools in the shedMr. Biscuits is one of the sharper tools in the shedMr. Biscuits is one of the sharper tools in the shedMr. Biscuits is one of the sharper tools in the shedMr. Biscuits is one of the sharper tools in the shedMr. Biscuits is one of the sharper tools in the shedMr. Biscuits is one of the sharper tools in the shed

Name: Brennen J
Mr. Biscuits's Tacoma Gallery
Entering and exiting 4WD should be done at a stop I believe. At least that's how the rear lockers are recommended to be activated.
Old 12-07-2012, 02:35 AM   #3