1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Oil Change Interval

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by White Monster, Apr 5, 2013.

1. Apr 5, 2013 at 1:17 PM
    White Monster

White Monster [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    Central Florida
    Vehicle:
    2001 PreRunner
    US Navy Veteran
    Hello everyone, newbie here,

I have not seen a thread about OCI's or Used Oil Analysis (UOA), so I thought I'd share my experiences with you and see what you all are doing.

I use Mobile 1 Extended Performance (EP) and double most people's oil change interval. Anybody send their used oil to a laboratory for analysis? You can't argue with testing.

I have tested my Inline 2.7L four-cylinder 3RZ-FE at both 14,200 and 18,500 with excellent results (meaning no abnormal engine wear or contaminates) and some TBN still remaining. My engine has 125,000 on it now, mostly easy, clean driving without loads or towing.

Check out my results and post up yours !
    :thumbsup:

[​IMG]

Averages: Both the universal and unit averages are running averages and change with the number of samples we analyze.

Elements: Elements are quantified in the oil at parts per million levels (PPM). This list shows the most common sources of the elements in gasoline or diesel engine oil. Following each element is a description of where it comes from. They are grouped by category.

Wear Metals
    Aluminum: Pistons, bearings, cases (heads & blocks).
    Chromium: Rings, a trace element in steel.
    Iron: Cylinders, rotating shafts, the valve train, and any steel part sharing the oil.