Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 1st Gen. Tacomas

Notices

Can I make this work for keyless entry?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-16-2013, 07:29 PM   #1
gainman [OP] gainman is offline
Senior Member
gainman is one of the sharper tools in the shedgainman is one of the sharper tools in the shedgainman is one of the sharper tools in the shedgainman is one of the sharper tools in the shedgainman is one of the sharper tools in the shedgainman is one of the sharper tools in the shedgainman is one of the sharper tools in the shedgainman is one of the sharper tools in the shedgainman is one of the sharper tools in the shedgainman is one of the sharper tools in the shedgainman is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
gainman's Avatar
Marines: Radio Man
Joined: Oct 2008, #10185
Posts: 652
gainman's Tacoma Gallery
Can I make this work for keyless entry?

Hey guys. I have a 2000 trd v6 5 speed sr5 with power door locks. I want a keyless entry (aftermarket), but specifically I want the entry fob and the key itself to be one unit.

I found this IKEY

Anyone have any info on this? I assume I need an actual keyless unit to go with it? Will it work with any aftermarket unit?
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 09:22 PM   #2
Senior Member
Rich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Rich91710's Avatar
Name: Rich
Joined: Feb 2012, #73470
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Male
Posts: 16,682
Rich91710's Tacoma Gallery
Those devices are designed to replace the factory remote.

Problem with aftermarket is that the unit and entry system need to be programmed to match each other. The dealer can program your OEM system to accept the aftermarket remote. You have no way of reprogramming a Viper or other aftermarket keyless entry system.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 07:33 AM   #3
gainman [OP] gainman is offline
Senior Member
gainman is one of the sharper tools in the shedgainman is one of the sharper tools in the shedgainman is one of the sharper tools in the shedgainman is one of the sharper tools in the shedgainman is one of the sharper tools in the shedgainman is one of the sharper tools in the shedgainman is one of the sharper tools in the shedgainman is one of the sharper tools in the shedgainman is one of the sharper tools in the shedgainman is one of the sharper tools in the shedgainman is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
gainman's Avatar
Marines: Radio Man
Joined: Oct 2008, #10185
Posts: 652
gainman's Tacoma Gallery
I don't have any system right now, my truck did not come with keyless entry. I would like to add an aftermarket unit but I want one that has the key and fob in one, or even a flip key.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 09:13 PM   #4
Senior Member
Rich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shedRich91710 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Rich91710's Avatar
Name: Rich
Joined: Feb 2012, #73470
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Male
Posts: 16,682
Rich91710's Tacoma Gallery
I know that... I'm just saying that you'll have no way to program the aftermarket unit to accept the new remote.

The remote won't work out of the box with anything. It might be possible to program the new unit, but each one will have a different procedure (if possible) and it won't be a DIY thing... only a dealer for the alarm would be able to do it.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FOB reprogram, now Keyless entry won't work... pyroskier Technical Chat 22 06-05-2014 02:58 PM
Keyless Entry lourugg 2nd Gen. Tacomas 4 02-22-2013 03:23 PM
Would a keyless entry from 05 Tundra work for 02 Dbl cab tacoma? dgibson88 1st Gen. Tacomas 0 08-15-2012 10:16 AM
Keyless entry hillbillytoyo Technical Chat 9 03-20-2011 08:27 AM
No keyless entry. Where can I get it? jrdbrn 2nd Gen. Tacomas 12 05-24-2010 09:40 AM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.