1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Power steering leak help

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by motopreserve, Apr 26, 2013.

1. Apr 26, 2013 at 7:06 AM
    motopreserve

motopreserve [OP] Active Member

Member:
    Brooklyn
    Vehicle:
    '02 Tacoma SR5 TRD
    Hey folks. Total newbie, so please excuse my ignorance.

I've been experiencing low power steering fluid levels since I got my used 2002 tacoma TRD WITH 126k on odometer. I've kept an eye on it to spot the source of the issue, and refilled when needed. I hadn't seen any seeping around the resevoir, or anywhere else until I was able to get under the truck today.

While under there, I noticed leaking in the 2 photos below. There are 2 rubber gaskets that both seem crushed and seeping some type of fluid. Not a ton, but enough to cover the areas below them with a slick of moisture.

C89B94C4-29F5-4021-A038-3C83C9B9C324-529_dd2c5b1db74cb00daa1989ad6ce9e8918683e439.jpg

2BE96681-CF3E-4100-A825-AADCAADD439F-529_71d31df41aef24a4fd8d5437414a19b8375b9aa2.jpg

I'm wondering if the leakage in these areas would cause the low fluid level in the resevoir. I have not been able to spot anything else leaking. If you could point me in the right direction to check - it's much appreciated.

Thanks for any help in advance.

2. Apr 26, 2013 at 7:13 AM
    ARB1977

ARB1977 It’s a beaut Clark

Member:
    North Texas
    Vehicle:
    15 DCSB Prerunner 4.0L Blue Ribbon Metallic
    Black TRD Fj Cruiser wheels, TRD catback exhaust.
    Those rack bushings are shot. That rust looks pretty bad. May need a new rack my friend.

3. Apr 26, 2013 at 7:16 AM