Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 1st Gen. Tacomas

Notices

manual hubs on a v6??

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-27-2013, 07:52 PM   #1
TTBlues [OP] TTBlues is offline
Senior Member
TTBlues is on a distinguished road
Joined: Apr 2013, #102400
Gender: Male
Posts: 197
TTBlues's Tacoma Gallery
manual hubs on a v6??

my inner cv boots are torn. since i'm looking at replacing the axles, i thought it might be a good time to do a manual hub swap, if I can find some reasonably priced hubs..

my v6 truck has ADD hubs. can i put manual hubs on it from a 4 cyl or do they have to come from a v6?

Is there a chance that my wheels won't fit on the hubs I find? Something specific to look for?

What all do I need? The hubs, spindles, cv's, and ??????
Am I going to have to get new bearings too?

Thanks.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 07:44 AM   #2
Member
History is on a distinguished road
Joined: Feb 2013, #97120
Location: NC Mountains
Gender: Male
Posts: 40
History's Tacoma Gallery
Good question, mine has on the fly 4x4 which when I was younger we called it full time . Ive changed hubs before on other vehicles but I havent on a toy. Id like to change mine to locking hubs also for gas milage and less turning/moving parts for less vibration. Is there anything that needs to be done other than just putting the hubs on or do you need to change other parts ,,axles or the entire hub?

I think I am asking the same question he is but in a different way.

Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 08:14 AM   #3
Self Proclaimed first gen expert :doh:
Greensystemsgo is one of the sharper tools in the shedGreensystemsgo is one of the sharper tools in the shedGreensystemsgo is one of the sharper tools in the shedGreensystemsgo is one of the sharper tools in the shedGreensystemsgo is one of the sharper tools in the shedGreensystemsgo is one of the sharper tools in the shedGreensystemsgo is one of the sharper tools in the shedGreensystemsgo is one of the sharper tools in the shedGreensystemsgo is one of the sharper tools in the shedGreensystemsgo is one of the sharper tools in the shedGreensystemsgo is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Greensystemsgo's Avatar
Name: Nick
Joined: Jun 2011, #58216
Location: Avondale, AZ
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,836
Greensystemsgo's Tacoma Gallery
Just new hubs, 4 cyl are fine.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 11:12 AM   #4
Senior Member
vtrguy is a name known to allvtrguy is a name known to allvtrguy is a name known to allvtrguy is a name known to allvtrguy is a name known to allvtrguy is a name known to all
 
vtrguy's Avatar
Name: Jarrod
Joined: Dec 2012, #94030
Location: Bay Area
Gender: Male
Posts: 449
vtrguy's Tacoma Gallery
so just to clarify...

In order to transfer over you need manual hubs and the matching CVs for trucks already equipped with ADD?

I'm interested in doing this as well.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Manual hubs 06texasedition 1st Gen. Tacomas 1 03-11-2013 07:35 PM
manual hubs SPOTSONTROUT 1st Gen. Tacomas 3 01-17-2013 11:23 AM
Manual Hubs newertoy 1st Gen. Tacomas 15 07-22-2011 12:14 PM
Manual hubs John Weeda 2nd Gen. Tacomas 2 06-12-2011 06:13 PM
manual hubs SRFIVE 1st Gen. Tacomas 23 10-03-2010 09:15 AM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.