Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 1st Gen. Tacomas

Notices

Instrument Cluster Swap

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-15-2013, 08:45 AM   #1
iamjcombs [OP] iamjcombs is offline
Junior Member
iamjcombs is on a distinguished road
Army: 295TH SIGNAL SPT CO
Name: Josh
Joined: Apr 2012, #76638
Location: Stony Point, NC
Gender: Male
Posts: 8
iamjcombs's Tacoma Gallery
Question Instrument Cluster Swap

Sorry if this has been posted before. (After searching, I couldn't find anything)..

I have a 1997 Tacoma 2.7 4WD and it doesn't have a tachometer. I ordered a FACTORY Toyota instrument gauge cluster with tachometer from a 1996 4 wheel drive pickup truck with a 4 cylinder 2.7L 3RZ-FE engine and 5 speed manual transmission and was curious if the tach will work without having to do any extra wiring, etc...
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 11:59 AM   #2
Senior Member
se7enine has much to be proud ofse7enine has much to be proud ofse7enine has much to be proud ofse7enine has much to be proud ofse7enine has much to be proud ofse7enine has much to be proud ofse7enine has much to be proud ofse7enine has much to be proud ofse7enine has much to be proud of
 
se7enine's Avatar
Joined: Apr 2013, #102322
Location: Reno, NV
Age: 35
Gender: Dude
Posts: 2,076
se7enine's Tacoma Gallery
Should be fine. Been swapping gauges in my old Toyota's for years with now extra wiring involved. Just PnP.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 12:05 PM   #3
The Rembrandt of Rattle Can
Madjik_Man is one of the sharper tools in the shedMadjik_Man is one of the sharper tools in the shedMadjik_Man is one of the sharper tools in the shedMadjik_Man is one of the sharper tools in the shedMadjik_Man is one of the sharper tools in the shedMadjik_Man is one of the sharper tools in the shedMadjik_Man is one of the sharper tools in the shedMadjik_Man is one of the sharper tools in the shedMadjik_Man is one of the sharper tools in the shedMadjik_Man is one of the sharper tools in the shedMadjik_Man is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Madjik_Man's Avatar
Joined: Dec 2009, #26893
Location: Boulder, CO
Gender: Male
Posts: 8,933
Madjik_Man's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by iamjcombs View Post
Sorry if this has been posted before. (After searching, I couldn't find anything)..

I have a 1997 Tacoma 2.7 4WD and it doesn't have a tachometer. I ordered a FACTORY Toyota instrument gauge cluster with tachometer from a 1996 4 wheel drive pickup truck with a 4 cylinder 2.7L 3RZ-FE engine and 5 speed manual transmission and was curious if the tach will work without having to do any extra wiring, etc...
Yup.

This was just recently done and reported on by (drawing a blank)

Just needs to be from the same engine and it's essentially plug and play

edit: here's a helpful thread. Be sure to check out the other links within it, they are helpful too http://www.tacomaworld.com/forum/1st...achometer.html
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 12:52 PM   #4
Senior Member
se7enine has much to be proud ofse7enine has much to be proud ofse7enine has much to be proud ofse7enine has much to be proud ofse7enine has much to be proud ofse7enine has much to be proud ofse7enine has much to be proud ofse7enine has much to be proud ofse7enine has much to be proud of
 
se7enine's Avatar
Joined: Apr 2013, #102322
Location: Reno, NV
Age: 35
Gender: Dude
Posts: 2,076
se7enine's Tacoma Gallery
Most tachs should have an adjusting screw under the face plate, just turn to change rpms with a dwell hooked up to match it up. I've used a V6 on a 4cyl before. Seeing that you (OP) ordered one from the same engine as yours you should be fine.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 09:35 PM   #5
iamjcombs [OP] iamjcombs is offline
Junior Member
iamjcombs is on a distinguished road
Army: 295TH SIGNAL SPT CO
Name: Josh
Joined: Apr 2012, #76638
Location: Stony Point, NC
Gender: Male
Posts: 8
iamjcombs's Tacoma Gallery
Y'all were right. It was a simple PnP. Everything works just fine!
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 10:13 PM   #6
Senior Member
tan4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtan4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtan4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtan4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtan4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtan4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtan4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtan4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtan4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtan4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedtan4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
tan4x4's Avatar
Name: Rick
Joined: Nov 2011, #67982
Location: Folsom, CA
Age: 59
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,335
tan4x4's Tacoma Gallery
Does the 4WD indicator light work, when in 4wd?
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 03:31 AM   #7
iamjcombs [OP] iamjcombs is offline
Junior Member
iamjcombs is on a distinguished road
Army: 295TH SIGNAL SPT CO
Name: Josh
Joined: Apr 2012, #76638
Location: Stony Point, NC
Gender: Male
Posts: 8
iamjcombs's Tacoma Gallery
Yes, only because new one came out of a 4wd vehicle.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Instrument Cluster 1BADTACOMA 2nd Gen. Tacomas 17 04-24-2014 03:57 PM
2010 / 2011 instrument cluster swap ANT3310 2nd Gen. Tacomas 4 09-08-2012 12:55 AM
Need help with instrument cluster awoit Lighting 6 06-28-2012 06:32 PM
instrument cluster? teccomm 1st Gen. Tacomas 1 02-06-2012 11:03 PM
Instrument Cluster 1BADTACOMA 2nd Gen. Tacomas 7 10-07-2008 05:23 AM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.