Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 1st Gen. Tacomas

Notices

High Beams Not Working

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-26-2013, 01:14 PM   #1
Newby [OP] Newby is offline
Senior Member
Newby is on a distinguished road
Joined: Mar 2013, #100792
Location: North Carolina
Gender: Male
Posts: 128
Newby's Tacoma Gallery
High Beams Not Working

Hello everyone,

The High Beams on my 96 Tacoma SR5 V6 4x4 are not working. Every time I turn/push to the high beams, it's not working and it's just black out. The low beams are working. I already checked all of the fuses under the hood and every fuse is fine. I searched many times online but I didn't find result. I need your help and input please. Do you have any idea?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 02:19 PM   #2
Senior Member
00yotasr5 is on a distinguished road
 
00yotasr5's Avatar
Name: lee
Joined: Feb 2011, #50676
Location: merced, ca
Age: 30
Gender: Male
Posts: 301
00yotasr5's Tacoma Gallery
did you check the high beam filament? there is 1 for low and 1 for high
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 03:47 PM   #3
OldPhart
bldegle2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbldegle2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbldegle2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbldegle2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbldegle2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbldegle2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbldegle2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbldegle2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbldegle2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbldegle2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbldegle2 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
bldegle2's Avatar
Joined: Apr 2013, #102169
Location: floyd, VA
Gender: Male
Posts: 999
bldegle2's Tacoma Gallery
since you checked the fuses already, pull plugs to headlights, then using a voltmeter check the plug to see if you are getting the proper volts..

Also, have you checked the high beam filaments?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 07:21 PM   #4
ASE Master Tech
BamaToy1997 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBamaToy1997 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBamaToy1997 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBamaToy1997 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBamaToy1997 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBamaToy1997 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBamaToy1997 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBamaToy1997 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBamaToy1997 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBamaToy1997 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBamaToy1997 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
BamaToy1997's Avatar
Marines: M1A2 hull/turret technician, 4th Maint Btn. 4th FSSG.
Name: Bill
Joined: Jan 2012, #71846
Location: Marion, AL
Age: 46
Gender: Male
Posts: 8,369
BamaToy1997's Tacoma Gallery
Does the indicator on the dash show high beams? You can also place your finger on the high beam relay to see if it "clicks" when you turn the high beams on. Other than that the above suggestions are all good ones.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 11:53 AM   #5
Senior Member
Yamaha Dave is one of the sharper tools in the shedYamaha Dave is one of the sharper tools in the shedYamaha Dave is one of the sharper tools in the shedYamaha Dave is one of the sharper tools in the shedYamaha Dave is one of the sharper tools in the shedYamaha Dave is one of the sharper tools in the shedYamaha Dave is one of the sharper tools in the shedYamaha Dave is one of the sharper tools in the shedYamaha Dave is one of the sharper tools in the shedYamaha Dave is one of the sharper tools in the shedYamaha Dave is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Yamaha Dave's Avatar
Joined: Mar 2010, #34080
Location: Austin,TX
Gender: Guy
Posts: 2,667
Yamaha Dave's Tacoma Gallery
I just had this happen to me and here is what fixed the problem. Basically same issue, low beams work and hi beams would go black when I pull the switch. I originally thought the Issue was either a blown fuse or a shorted out headlight switch which is actually common, however the problem was there is some kind of control module $$$$$ in the steering column and that is where the problem was. It had a short, and the fix was to by-pass the module all together so the lights would work independent of the module. I lost my DRL function, but now everything is working great both hi and lo work from the switch as normal.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 02:13 PM   #6
Newby [OP] Newby is offline
Senior Member
Newby is on a distinguished road
Joined: Mar 2013, #100792
Location: North Carolina
Gender: Male
Posts: 128
Newby's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by 00yotasr5 View Post
did you check the high beam filament? there is 1 for low and 1 for high
Thanks for your subjection. I'll check it after work and then I'll report it back here for you.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 02:15 PM   #7
Newby [OP] Newby is offline
Senior Member
Newby is on a distinguished road
Joined: Mar 2013, #100792
Location: North Carolina
Gender: Male
Posts: 128
Newby's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by bldegle2 View Post
since you checked the fuses already, pull plugs to headlights, then using a voltmeter check the plug to see if you are getting the proper volts..

Also, have you checked the high beam filaments?
I have never done any electrical test before. How can I check the plug?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 02:16 PM   #8
Newby [OP] Newby is offline
Senior Member
Newby is on a distinguished road
Joined: Mar 2013, #100792
Location: North Carolina
Gender: Male
Posts: 128
Newby's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by BamaToy1997 View Post
Does the indicator on the dash show high beams? You can also place your finger on the high beam relay to see if it "clicks" when you turn the high beams on. Other than that the above suggestions are all good ones.
Which one is the high beams relay? Can you point it out for me?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 02:17 PM   #9
Newby [OP] Newby is offline
Senior Member
Newby is on a distinguished road
Joined: Mar 2013, #100792
Location: North Carolina
Gender: Male
Posts: 128
Newby's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yamaha Dave View Post
I just had this happen to me and here is what fixed the problem. Basically same issue, low beams work and hi beams would go black when I pull the switch. I originally thought the Issue was either a blown fuse or a shorted out headlight switch which is actually common, however the problem was there is some kind of control module $$$$$ in the steering column and that is where the problem was. It had a short, and the fix was to by-pass the module all together so the lights would work independent of the module. I lost my DRL function, but now everything is working great both hi and lo work from the switch as normal.
Can you tell me where is the control module in the steering column? What does it look like?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 05:54 AM   #10
Newby [OP] Newby is offline
Senior Member
Newby is on a distinguished road
Joined: Mar 2013, #100792
Location: North Carolina
Gender: Male
Posts: 128
Newby's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by BamaToy1997 View Post
Does the indicator on the dash show high beams? You can also place your finger on the high beam relay to see if it "clicks" when you turn the high beams on. Other than that the above suggestions are all good ones.
Yeah, I just checked and the high beam indicator is shown on the dash.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 06:10 AM   #11
ASE Master Tech
BamaToy1997 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBamaToy1997 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBamaToy1997 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBamaToy1997 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBamaToy1997 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBamaToy1997 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBamaToy1997 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBamaToy1997 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBamaToy1997 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBamaToy1997 is one of the sharper tools in the shedBamaToy1997 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
BamaToy1997's Avatar
Marines: M1A2 hull/turret technician, 4th Maint Btn. 4th FSSG.
Name: Bill
Joined: Jan 2012, #71846
Location: Marion, AL
Age: 46
Gender: Male
Posts: 8,369
BamaToy1997's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Newby View Post
Which one is the high beams relay? Can you point it out for me?
Right off the top of my head I don't remember, but your fuse block cover or owner's manual should say.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 12:19 PM   #12
Newby [OP] Newby is offline
Senior Member
Newby is on a distinguished road
Joined: Mar 2013, #100792
Location: North Carolina
Gender: Male
Posts: 128
Newby's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by BamaToy1997 View Post
Right off the top of my head I don't remember, but your fuse block cover or owner's manual should say.
Thanks. I'll look at the manual and then report back here for you.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 12:24 PM   #13
Ditch Doctor
medic2230 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmedic2230 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmedic2230 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmedic2230 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmedic2230 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmedic2230 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmedic2230 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmedic2230 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmedic2230 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmedic2230 is one of the sharper tools in the shedmedic2230 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
medic2230's Avatar
EMS:
Name: Murph
Joined: Oct 2008, #9942
Location: Columbus, Ga
Age: 42
Gender: Male
Posts: 7,572
medic2230's Tacoma Gallery
Did you just try a new bulb? Cheap way to see if both high elements just happened to burn out at the same time. Odd yes, but it has happened before.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 05:34 PM   #14
Newby [OP] Newby is offline
Senior Member
Newby is on a distinguished road
Joined: Mar 2013, #100792
Location: North Carolina
Gender: Male
Posts: 128
Newby's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by medic2230 View Post
Did you just try a new bulb? Cheap way to see if both high elements just happened to burn out at the same time. Odd yes, but it has happened before.
No, I haven't replace with the new bulbs. I checked the fuses and they all are good. Furthermore, I checked both sides of head lights but I didn't see the high beams or the high elements. what do they look like?
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 05:41 PM   #15
Roll Tide
HondaGM is one of the sharper tools in the shedHondaGM is one of the sharper tools in the shedHondaGM is one of the sharper tools in the shedHondaGM is one of the sharper tools in the shedHondaGM is one of the sharper tools in the shedHondaGM is one of the sharper tools in the shedHondaGM is one of the sharper tools in the shedHondaGM is one of the sharper tools in the shedHondaGM is one of the sharper tools in the shedHondaGM is one of the sharper tools in the shedHondaGM is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
HondaGM's Avatar
Name: James
Joined: Oct 2009, #25056
Location: South-Pole
Age: 50
Gender: Dude
Posts: 5,799
HondaGM's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Newby View Post
No, I haven't replace with the new bulbs. I checked the fuses and they all are good. Furthermore, I checked both sides of head lights but I didn't see the high beams or the high elements. what do they look like?
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 04:14 AM   #16
OldPhart
bldegle2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbldegle2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbldegle2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbldegle2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbldegle2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbldegle2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbldegle2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbldegle2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbldegle2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbldegle2 is one of the sharper tools in the shedbldegle2 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
bldegle2's Avatar
Joined: Apr 2013, #102169
Location: floyd, VA
Gender: Male
Posts: 999
bldegle2's Tacoma Gallery
Get a multimeter (voltmeter) at Harbor Freight, they always have some kind of sale, I have seen them as cheap at $4, more than likely around $7...

There are three wires that come into the blub on the harness, one is ground, one is low beam, and one is high beam. very simple to test if voltage is flowing...put ground, the black wire on tester, on negative battery terminal, then check each of the three wires, once with lights on regular, then when clicked on high using the remaining red wire probe, make sure you have the multimeter in DC mode....obviously, the ground wire will not show any volts, but the other two wires should be sporting DC 12 volts plus...check both harnesses, may as well be thorough..

This should take you no more than a minute or two, ten seconds if you have a friend who can flick the lever, saving you run back and forth time...it is going to take much longer to get the tool...the tool will come in handy on many other projects, so it is a good investment...

good luck...
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 09:35 AM   #17
Newby [OP] Newby is offline
Senior Member
Newby is on a distinguished road
Joined: Mar 2013, #100792
Location: North Carolina
Gender: Male
Posts: 128
Newby's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by HondaGM View Post
Thank you so much for showing me the filaments. I'll check it again and the let you know.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 09:37 AM   #18
Newby [OP] Newby is offline
Senior Member
Newby is on a distinguished road
Joined: Mar 2013, #100792
Location: North Carolina
Gender: Male
Posts: 128
Newby's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by bldegle2 View Post
Get a multimeter (voltmeter) at Harbor Freight, they always have some kind of sale, I have seen them as cheap at $4, more than likely around $7...

There are three wires that come into the blub on the harness, one is ground, one is low beam, and one is high beam. very simple to test if voltage is flowing...put ground, the black wire on tester, on negative battery terminal, then check each of the three wires, once with lights on regular, then when clicked on high using the remaining red wire probe, make sure you have the multimeter in DC mode....obviously, the ground wire will not show any volts, but the other two wires should be sporting DC 12 volts plus...check both harnesses, may as well be thorough..

This should take you no more than a minute or two, ten seconds if you have a friend who can flick the lever, saving you run back and forth time...it is going to take much longer to get the tool...the tool will come in handy on many other projects, so it is a good investment...

good luck...
Thank you for your advice. I'll try it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 10:09 AM   #19
Newby [OP] Newby is offline
Senior Member
Newby is on a distinguished road
Joined: Mar 2013, #100792
Location: North Carolina
Gender: Male
Posts: 128
Newby's Tacoma Gallery
I didn't test it with the tester but the beams seem normal. It works fine on the high beams with pulling the switch toward me, but it does not work when I push the switch forward as the way it suppose to be. Do you have any idea why?
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High beams work, low beams don't. Ground wire next to battery? fishfox 1st Gen. Tacomas 1 08-20-2013 04:12 PM
Low beams only. No High beams helpp 04trd Lighting 0 04-14-2013 04:43 AM
low beams on with high beams aaronbuell 2nd Gen. Tacomas 14 10-02-2012 08:52 AM
Low Beams and High Beams on together vegasquarterkit Lighting 10 01-09-2012 02:37 PM
No Low Beams/High Beams Always on jms83 Technical Chat 3 08-26-2011 03:31 AM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.