Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 1st Gen. Tacomas

Notices

gauge problems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-24-2009, 09:46 AM   #1
blkcoma32 [OP] blkcoma32 is offline
Senior Member
blkcoma32 will become famous soon enough
 
blkcoma32's Avatar
Joined: Feb 2009, #13359
Location: Illinois
Gender: Dude
Posts: 260
blkcoma32's Tacoma Gallery
gauge problems

My 98 SR5's speedo, tach,odometer, and cruise cut in and out, i think it is bump related but it has done it without hitting a bump. I can sometimes smack the top of the dash and get them to turn back on but a mile down the road they quit again. They just started cutting out every now and then about a month ago and now they very rarely work, except for when i hit the dash. It sounds like a loose wire but i really don't have any idea where to start looking. Has anyone else had this happen or have any suggestions? Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 07:06 PM   #2
blkcoma32 [OP] blkcoma32 is offline
Senior Member
blkcoma32 will become famous soon enough
 
blkcoma32's Avatar
Joined: Feb 2009, #13359
Location: Illinois
Gender: Dude
Posts: 260
blkcoma32's Tacoma Gallery
anyone?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 07:13 PM   #3
668: The Neighbor of the Beast
Toy4Life is one of the sharper tools in the shedToy4Life is one of the sharper tools in the shedToy4Life is one of the sharper tools in the shedToy4Life is one of the sharper tools in the shedToy4Life is one of the sharper tools in the shedToy4Life is one of the sharper tools in the shedToy4Life is one of the sharper tools in the shedToy4Life is one of the sharper tools in the shedToy4Life is one of the sharper tools in the shedToy4Life is one of the sharper tools in the shedToy4Life is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Toy4Life's Avatar
Name: Chad
Joined: Aug 2007, #2566
Location: Slippery Rock, PA
Age: 35
Gender: Male
Posts: 4,976
Toy4Life's Tacoma Gallery
I have nothing to add, but it sounds like a loose wire to me as well.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 07:21 PM   #4
Low and slow
dually is one of the sharper tools in the sheddually is one of the sharper tools in the sheddually is one of the sharper tools in the sheddually is one of the sharper tools in the sheddually is one of the sharper tools in the sheddually is one of the sharper tools in the sheddually is one of the sharper tools in the sheddually is one of the sharper tools in the sheddually is one of the sharper tools in the sheddually is one of the sharper tools in the sheddually is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
dually's Avatar
Army: 14S
Joined: Jul 2008, #8205
Location: Interstate underpass
Age: 23
Gender: Dude
Posts: 3,127
dually's Tacoma Gallery
Check your grounds.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 07:22 PM   #5
Senior Member
EnolaGaia is one of the sharper tools in the shedEnolaGaia is one of the sharper tools in the shedEnolaGaia is one of the sharper tools in the shedEnolaGaia is one of the sharper tools in the shedEnolaGaia is one of the sharper tools in the shedEnolaGaia is one of the sharper tools in the shedEnolaGaia is one of the sharper tools in the shedEnolaGaia is one of the sharper tools in the shedEnolaGaia is one of the sharper tools in the shedEnolaGaia is one of the sharper tools in the shedEnolaGaia is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Joined: Sep 2006, #9
Location: Midwest USA
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,136
EnolaGaia's Tacoma Gallery
Do the temperature and / or fuel gauges 'drop out', too?

A short or wiring fault that causes interruption of power from the 15A Dome fuse (engine bay fuse box) or 10A Gauge fuse (lower left dash fuse box) might explain it, as would an occasional interruption in a ground line.

The power line from the 15A Dome fuse, along with a number of ECU connections, hook to the cluster unit via a common connector or junction somewhere, and a short / fault in that vicinity might also explain it.

A bad vehicle speed sensor (or wiring from it to the cluster) might also explain it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 08:04 PM   #6
blkcoma32 [OP] blkcoma32 is offline
Senior Member
blkcoma32 will become famous soon enough
 
blkcoma32's Avatar
Joined: Feb 2009, #13359
Location: Illinois
Gender: Dude
Posts: 260
blkcoma32's Tacoma Gallery
The temperature and fuel gauge do not cut out. check engine light just came on and it came up as the speed sensor code, does each wheel have a speed sensor? if so how do u tell which one is bad or has a bad wire?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2009, 08:47 AM   #7
Senior Member
EnolaGaia is one of the sharper tools in the shedEnolaGaia is one of the sharper tools in the shedEnolaGaia is one of the sharper tools in the shedEnolaGaia is one of the sharper tools in the shedEnolaGaia is one of the sharper tools in the shedEnolaGaia is one of the sharper tools in the shedEnolaGaia is one of the sharper tools in the shedEnolaGaia is one of the sharper tools in the shedEnolaGaia is one of the sharper tools in the shedEnolaGaia is one of the sharper tools in the shedEnolaGaia is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Joined: Sep 2006, #9
Location: Midwest USA
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,136
EnolaGaia's Tacoma Gallery
Which speed sensor code was it? P0500? P1700? ....
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2009, 11:14 AM   #8
blkcoma32 [OP] blkcoma32 is offline
Senior Member
blkcoma32 will become famous soon enough
 
blkcoma32's Avatar
Joined: Feb 2009, #13359
Location: Illinois
Gender: Dude
Posts: 260
blkcoma32's Tacoma Gallery
not sure but i will look again
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2009, 01:21 PM   #9
Low and slow
dually is one of the sharper tools in the sheddually is one of the sharper tools in the sheddually is one of the sharper tools in the sheddually is one of the sharper tools in the sheddually is one of the sharper tools in the sheddually is one of the sharper tools in the sheddually is one of the sharper tools in the sheddually is one of the sharper tools in the sheddually is one of the sharper tools in the sheddually is one of the sharper tools in the sheddually is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
dually's Avatar
Army: 14S
Joined: Jul 2008, #8205
Location: Interstate underpass
Age: 23
Gender: Dude
Posts: 3,127
dually's Tacoma Gallery
pretty sure the speed sensor is on the transmission.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 06:43 AM   #10
blkcoma32 [OP] blkcoma32 is offline
Senior Member
blkcoma32 will become famous soon enough
 
blkcoma32's Avatar
Joined: Feb 2009, #13359
Location: Illinois
Gender: Dude
Posts: 260
blkcoma32's Tacoma Gallery
It is code P0500 and autozone told me that there is a sensor on the tranny which is 90 bucks and one on the wheels that is 180 bucks, im hoping it is a loose wire!
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 10:14 AM   #11
Senior Member
EnolaGaia is one of the sharper tools in the shedEnolaGaia is one of the sharper tools in the shedEnolaGaia is one of the sharper tools in the shedEnolaGaia is one of the sharper tools in the shedEnolaGaia is one of the sharper tools in the shedEnolaGaia is one of the sharper tools in the shedEnolaGaia is one of the sharper tools in the shedEnolaGaia is one of the sharper tools in the shedEnolaGaia is one of the sharper tools in the shedEnolaGaia is one of the sharper tools in the shedEnolaGaia is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Joined: Sep 2006, #9
Location: Midwest USA
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,136
EnolaGaia's Tacoma Gallery
I hate to break the news to you, but ....

Code P0500 relates to the ABS (wheel) sensor and not the tranny-mounted vehicle speed sensor. P0500 is triggered when the ECM fails to receive speed sensor readings. Possible causes include:

- short or other wiring fault in the speed signal circuit
- something wrong in the cluster
- the ECM itself
- short or other wiring fault in the ABS speed sensor circuit itself
- the ABS ECU
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2009, 12:32 PM   #12
blkcoma32 [OP] blkcoma32 is offline
Senior Member
blkcoma32 will become famous soon enough
 
blkcoma32's Avatar
Joined: Feb 2009, #13359
Location: Illinois
Gender: Dude
Posts: 260
blkcoma32's Tacoma Gallery
i don't think i have abs? there is no wire on/around any of the wheels, is that possible or do they all have abs? what is the ECM?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2009, 01:33 PM   #13
Low and slow
dually is one of the sharper tools in the sheddually is one of the sharper tools in the sheddually is one of the sharper tools in the sheddually is one of the sharper tools in the sheddually is one of the sharper tools in the sheddually is one of the sharper tools in the sheddually is one of the sharper tools in the sheddually is one of the sharper tools in the sheddually is one of the sharper tools in the sheddually is one of the sharper tools in the sheddually is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
dually's Avatar
Army: 14S
Joined: Jul 2008, #8205
Location: Interstate underpass
Age: 23
Gender: Dude
Posts: 3,127
dually's Tacoma Gallery
ECM=ECU.. You probably dont have ABS
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 07:18 PM   #14
blkcoma32 [OP] blkcoma32 is offline
Senior Member
blkcoma32 will become famous soon enough
 
blkcoma32's Avatar
Joined: Feb 2009, #13359
Location: Illinois
Gender: Dude
Posts: 260
blkcoma32's Tacoma Gallery
so why is my truck throwimg the abs sensor code when i dont have ABS?!?
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fuel gauge problems Deraj1288 2nd Gen. Tacomas 7 04-25-2012 05:13 AM
Air/Fuel gauge problems ViperJay Technical Chat 6 03-11-2011 06:26 PM
FS-TRD Boost Gauge, Gauge Pod, and Autometer Trans Temp Gauge novakills Buy / Sell / Trade 2 12-17-2010 12:38 PM
ultra gauge problems dirtytaco2010 2nd Gen. Tacomas 17 10-08-2010 06:29 AM
Boost gauge mounting possibilities? I only want a single gauge. Why only double mount 05xr 2nd Gen. Tacomas 23 07-26-2010 12:17 AM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.