Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 1st Gen. Tacomas

Notices

Strut mount squeaking... why?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-15-2014, 07:15 PM   #1
043RZ [OP] 043RZ is offline
Senior Member
043RZ is on a distinguished road
 
043RZ's Avatar
Name: Matt
Joined: Mar 2011, #53381
Location: Spring Grove, PA
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Posts: 122
043RZ's Tacoma Gallery
Strut mount squeaking... why?

So iv got this annoying high pitch squeaking going on on the driver side of my truck... I thought it was the upper control arm bushings but upon further investigation i found out that the squeak is coming from the top of my strut. The squeak is not constant per say... like it dosent happen on big bumps but on the little imperfections on the road. And its like a metal to metal squeak thats really high pitch. Anyway i tool some pics and notice that the middle of my struts are sorta off center in the spring tower as you will see below. What would cause this and how do i remedy this and is the offset normal?


Driverside, i sprayed with wd-40 to confirm the location of the squeak



Passenger Side



  Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2014, 08:12 PM   #2
Senior Member
wcp0611 is a jewel in the roughwcp0611 is a jewel in the roughwcp0611 is a jewel in the roughwcp0611 is a jewel in the rough
Joined: Jul 2011, #60212
Location: wcp0611@gmail.com
Gender: Male
Posts: 237
wcp0611's Tacoma Gallery
The offset is not normal and eould worry me a bit. I think your strut is fine but you need to replace that top mount. I've never seen one wear like that.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2014, 08:13 PM   #3
Member
reellittlephish is on a distinguished road
 
reellittlephish's Avatar
Name: Tom
Joined: Jul 2014, #134918
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Gender: Male
Posts: 66
reellittlephish's Tacoma Gallery
When I was researching on Old Man Emu how to field change front shocks and coil overs I saw where the top caps of the Spring assembly can get worn out in an elliptical pattern. Means you get to change out for new parts. Mind you..I have not done this myself. Maybe someone who has will chime in
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 06:23 PM   #4
043RZ [OP] 043RZ is offline
Senior Member
043RZ is on a distinguished road
 
043RZ's Avatar
Name: Matt
Joined: Mar 2011, #53381
Location: Spring Grove, PA
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Posts: 122
043RZ's Tacoma Gallery
Do you think its just the rubber isolator that's worn out and not being able to support the strut? I should add that i do have the Fabtech 6inch struts, and also that the struts are in good working order and not leaking. Eventually i want to replace the shitty fabtech struts with either Radflo struts or the Trailmaster spacer/OEM strut modification, but im about to put new leaf springs and hardware in in the rear and dont want to get to deep into two things at one time.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 06:44 PM   #5
Senior Member
wcp0611 is a jewel in the roughwcp0611 is a jewel in the roughwcp0611 is a jewel in the roughwcp0611 is a jewel in the rough
Joined: Jul 2011, #60212
Location: wcp0611@gmail.com
Gender: Male
Posts: 237
wcp0611's Tacoma Gallery
Can't tell without pulling that top mount off, but my money is on the top plate being worn and needing replacing. I'm not familiar with Fabtech lifts, but do they use the same top plate as regular Tacoma struts?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 07:03 PM   #6
043RZ [OP] 043RZ is offline
Senior Member
043RZ is on a distinguished road
 
043RZ's Avatar
Name: Matt
Joined: Mar 2011, #53381
Location: Spring Grove, PA
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Posts: 122
043RZ's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by wcp0611 View Post
Can't tell without pulling that top mount off, but my money is on the top plate being worn and needing replacing. I'm not familiar with Fabtech lifts, but do they use the same top plate as regular Tacoma struts?
Yes the fabtech struts use the same top hat and i think i found my answer

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jo0FJSi-KYs
Start at 1:16
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2014, 10:43 AM   #7
Senior Member
wcp0611 is a jewel in the roughwcp0611 is a jewel in the roughwcp0611 is a jewel in the roughwcp0611 is a jewel in the rough
Joined: Jul 2011, #60212
Location: wcp0611@gmail.com
Gender: Male
Posts: 237
wcp0611's Tacoma Gallery
Sounds like you found your answer. I'm not a big fan of swapping struts by unbolting top plate nut while its on the vehicle. That just seems stupid and very irresponsible to me but to each their own. It definitely has worked for some and is probably a lot less dangerous with a fabtech lift, but I just don't trust it. Good luck man.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strut Mount Questions jetta.the.hut 2nd Gen. Tacomas 10 02-13-2014 01:11 PM
top strut mount tacomazach Suspension 6 09-27-2013 02:12 PM
Shock/Strut mount questions Annolino122 Suspension 3 02-07-2013 12:07 PM
Strut Mount Issue (Huge) Please Help! cnix43 Long Travel Suspension 83 01-06-2011 10:06 PM
WTB: Upper strut mount. eight3one_offroad Buy / Sell / Trade 11 10-10-2010 11:27 AM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.