1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

bleeding coolant system - is there a bleeder valve?

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by Kiko, Nov 23, 2014.

1. Nov 23, 2014 at 5:41 PM
    Kiko

Kiko [OP] Member

Member:
    Minneapolis
    Vehicle:
    1995.5 Tacoma 2.7 4x4
    Hi, I'm new here. A little background info, I'm a fairly inexperienced mechanic, but have I worked my way through several repairs on a few different cars.

This is my basic question: Is there a bleeder valve for the coolant on my engine, 1995.5 2.7? Or is the radiator cap the "bleeder valve"?

What follows is a more thorough explanation of my situation.

So the heat in my truck is barely detectable. Here is what I'm up to:
    Flushing the coolant/radiator.
    Back-flushing the heater core.
    Replacing the thermostat.

I've never flushed coolant before. While I was out working on the truck, my neighbors' adult son stopped by to check out what I was up to. I've never met him before, but it turns out he is part of a Land Cruiser club - he owns a diesel FJ45. So, he was very helpful with basic info on wrenching on Toyotas and cars in general. He didn't know my engine, but said some engines have a bleeder valve for the coolant. He said it's a more effective way to bleed a coolant system than just opening up the radiator cap. Is there a specific bleeder valve for the coolant on the 2.7 engine?

Also, any thoughts on my lack of heat? My blend door is a mechanical system and I hear/feel it moving when I slide the lever, and I feel like I'm addressing the remaining parts of the system, so hopefully I will have heat tomorrow.