1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Pulley noise

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by Combatman, Dec 5, 2014.

1. Dec 5, 2014 at 7:59 AM
    Combatman

Combatman [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    Sioux Falls sd
    Vehicle:
    1996 Tacoma 4x4 3.4 Manual
    31" Wrangler tires
    So for a while now I have had a light metallic gritty airy noise (I know I'm a great descriptive writer lol) and I have finally narrowed it down to one of these two pulleys at the bottom passenger side of the engine. I was wondering:

What pulleys are these?

How can I tell which on is doing it?

And is one more likely to fail than the other?

Here is the picture:d983e98e61c1493349c98f215994afd6_6ee792f3fe088f4752edee1f4201f010a07b553a.jpg

2. Dec 5, 2014 at 8:15 AM
    keakar

keakar Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    karl
    louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2006 4runner sport 4.7L V8 (white)
    used to have - 99 2.4L I4 5 lug & 04 prerunner v6
    its called an idler pulley and its the one on the right , you may not even need to loosen the belt to check it so just reach in and try to wiggle it, if it wiggles at all (tilting left, right, up, down, then its bad. even if its not loose it might be bad so slip the belt off and spin it and you will hear if it has bad bearings. (it should not rumble)

they run about $20 each and I suggest you change both at the same time since they usually go out about the same mileages. the other one is up top for the power steering pump. (the alternator/water pump belt is the only thing that doesn't have an idler pulley on it)