1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

I'm new Here. fuel efficiency problem.

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by mikelundgren, Jan 2, 2015.

1. Jan 2, 2015 at 11:15 AM
    mikelundgren

mikelundgren [OP] New Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Mike
    Phoenix
    Vehicle:
    02 4wd Tacoma 4cyl 2.7L
    Additional leaf spring on the rear.
    Hello all,

I want to introduce myself and ask for some advice. I'm a landscape photographer in Phoenix, AZ. I use my 02 tacoma for what it was made for. Bought it at 50k in 2005 and now have 228k. We've been all over the Southwest deserts, including many trips to remote stretches of Sonora and Baja, Mexico. I'm not in this just for the thrill of rough trails, but to get to the best places I can, to make photographs and be in wild country. Best truck I've ever owned.

On to my issue: My standard mpg as been 20 since I owned this truck (fully loaded with camping and camera gear and traveling companions). Sometimes I can pull up to 23 but never get below 20, ever. So I started to average 18-19 last summer. My mechanic (sorry I'm not that handy with repairs!) thought it must be the fuel mix that shifts in the summer to more Ethanol. Of course, my truck never showed signs of this in the past 8 summers.

Long story short I'm still getting bad mileage and last tank was 17. The tank I'm on now looks like its getting even worse.

this summer : replaced the spark plugs, decarbed the throttle body, ran a few tanks of premium through it. fuel filter just done last week.