1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Some strange behavior

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by wishiniwasfishin, Jan 29, 2015.

1. Jan 29, 2015 at 9:47 AM
    wishiniwasfishin

wishiniwasfishin [OP] New Member

Member:
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    2004 Xtra cab
    Hi!
    I am new to the Toyota family. Just purchased an 2004 Xtra cab. I was so excited to buy it but I have been running into some situations with it that I never ran into before with other vehicles. I am hoping someone with more experience driving Tacomas might be able to help me figure out.

The first strange thing that happened to me was while driving on the highway. I was going about 70 when all of a sudden the truck felt like it was starting to fishtail. It felt as if I had hit a patch of ice, but the road was clear and dry. I slowed down to about 60, and it did it again. I thought maybe it had to do with the tires, so I pulled off and took a look, and they looked fine. I got back on the highway and was only going about 50 when it did it again, just kind of felt like I wasn't able to keep it going straight. That really freaked me out and I got off the highway and took back roads the rest of the way so I could go slower and not risk others since I wasn't sure what was going on. On the way I stopped at a friends house and he took it for a ride and said it felt fine, on the way back from his house the truck felt fine, and I had to jump back on the highway and got up to 60-65, and no more issues....
    Any ideas what that could have been?