Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 1st Gen. Tacomas

Notices

Check engine light on

Old 03-04-2015, 08:36 PM   #1
MattD14 is on a distinguished road

Name: Matt
MattD14's Tacoma Gallery
Cool Check engine light on

I drive a 2001 Toyota Tacoma 4x4 v6 3.4L. Pre-runner. My check engine light is on. Got it tested and my cat converter is bad. I have a flowmaster 50 series American thunder catback exhaust. I want to cut out my cat converter and put just pipe. How do I go about doing that? Y pipe? H pipe? What? Any help will be appreciated. I live in Florida so emissions is not a problem. Thanks!
Old 03-08-2015, 03:44 PM   #2
high n mighty is on a distinguished road
high n mighty's Tacoma Gallery
Emissions are a problem for everyone
Old 03-08-2015, 09:21 PM   #3

MattD14's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by high n mighty View Post
Emissions are a problem for everyone
Well it's not illegal in Florida to not have a catalytic converter, so I can careless if these other people in my city hate it. Hate on it
Old 03-08-2015, 09:27 PM   #4
Resident Agrologist
Sterdog is one of the sharper tools in the shedSterdog is one of the sharper tools in the shedSterdog is one of the sharper tools in the shedSterdog is one of the sharper tools in the shedSterdog is one of the sharper tools in the shedSterdog is one of the sharper tools in the shedSterdog is one of the sharper tools in the shedSterdog is one of the sharper tools in the shedSterdog is one of the sharper tools in the shedSterdog is one of the sharper tools in the shedSterdog is one of the sharper tools in the shed

Name: Ex-cel-lent Guy
Sterdog's Tacoma Gallery
Isn't an H-pipe/X-pipe built for running true dual exhaust? Why would you want to run true dual exhaust on a naturally aspirated Tacoma? You will have very little back pressure and lose your low end torque.