1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

blown tacoma motor!

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by kenny3932, Dec 22, 2007.

1. Dec 22, 2007 at 11:11 AM
    kenny3932

kenny3932 [OP] Member

Member:
    north west Indiana
    Vehicle:
    TRD prerunner SR5
    2004 V-6 motor, tuff country 3" suspension lift, aftermarket wheels. custom grill insert
    :(I have a 2001 Tacoma TRD V-6 extended cab. This is my first time owning a Toyota. I've had it a year now and less than one week after I purchased it with 92000 miles the motor blew. It happened after I changed the oil and installed a fram oil filter. After letting the motor run about ten minutes, I checked the trans fluid level and motor for oil leaks. Every thing looked good, so I got in the truck and gave it a little rev, that's when the motor went. One rod went through the block at the filter housing and another rod went through the side of the block where the A/C compressor is mounted. The oil filter outer shell was laying on the ground along with one large chunk of connecting rod and some other metal pieces from the block. The base of the oil filter was still attached to the block and that whole section of the block was hanging down only because the lip of the pan flange was still attached to it. The dealer where I purchased it from said they would look at it to see what might have caused it. They reminded me that there was no warranty (because of the high mileage). The dealer concluded that the oil filter was the cause. After sending pictures and the pieces of the filter to fram they said in a letter they were not liable, the motor was to blame a