Notices

Cold air intake 1st gen

Old 02-26-2010, 05:56 PM   #1
Texas Taco
doodle66 is on a distinguished road
Name: Robert
doodle66's Tacoma Gallery
Prototype Cold air intake 1st gen

This is my first try at a functional cold air intake on 1st gen that will actually work. This is not easy being that space is non existant. My take on getting cold air to the intake is, using the stock fender port as an exit vent, force as much cold air through the box as possible keeping the air temp. as low as possible, letting the intake pull what it needs to. at least it will be colder than compartment air. I will put a simple hatchet valve up by the air box for wet conditions, defaulting back to stock fender inlet. I wanted the scoop higher, but not enough room for the parts i had. eventually i want to move it to the top of the grill. This is primitive for now, but i will have a final system that is all one material. This was done without cutting anything. I found 2 factory bolt holes to use. I used 2'' round and ovalized automotive intake tubing. The scoop was off of a mid 90's car. I still need to finish plumbing the air box, kinda wish i had not done the deckplate mod it would have made this easier. I can always buy another box if i need to. I am also going to measure temp with all options open and closed to see what the temp inside the box is. If you got ideas i'm listening. more pics of finished product at the bottom of page.
Attached Thumbnails
Cold air intake 1st gen-img_0744.jpg   Cold air intake 1st gen-img_0731.jpg   Cold air intake 1st gen-img_0740.jpg   Cold air intake 1st gen-img_0741.jpg   Cold air intake 1st gen-img_0736.jpg  

Old 02-26-2010, 05:59 PM   #2