1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Overall Reliability?

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by JRA2000TL, Mar 25, 2010.

1. Mar 25, 2010 at 2:50 PM
    JRA2000TL

JRA2000TL [OP] Member

Member:
    Mobile, AL
    Vehicle:
    04 PreRunner SR5 TRD Xtra Cab V6
    This is my first truck. I've been driving Acura TLs for the past 6 years, and I miss my car; but it was time to upgrade to a truck. My 04 PreRunner V6 has 108k on it, 2wd. How's the overall reliability on these things, especially the tranny? The TLs were notorious for tranny problems, and that contributed to me wanting something else.

This was a 1 owner truck from mid-south FL. The body is straight with no rust. I won't be doing much heavy duty stuff with it. I have a Honda PWC that I'll be towing with it occasionally. I just want to make sure I'm not in for any major expenses with this thing. I hear these trucks run to 300k w/o issue. I'm not sure if the timing belt has been done, but the bolts on the timing cover appear to have been removed before (you can see slight rounds on the edges where a tool had been placed on there). I hear it's a non interference engine anyway.

I'm going to pay it off in 2 yrs or less; I put a chunk down and did a small loan. I hope to get several years out of it without any major issues.

2. Mar 25, 2010 at 2:55 PM
    NAAC3TACO

NAAC3TACO Middle aged member

Member:
    Just east of crazy, NV
    Vehicle:
    2014 SR5 DCLB 4x4