1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Help with RR Diff Lock a

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by 01TacoTRD, May 1, 2008.

1. May 1, 2008 at 3:05 PM
    01TacoTRD

01TacoTRD [OP] Carolina Alliance: Quack Addict

Member:
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Vehicle:
    2001 Tacoma TRD 5 spd. 3.4 ltr white
    I have an 01 Tacoma TRD 4x4 3.4 ltr 5 spd. manual and I'm having a little trouble engaging my diff lock. Since I havent had my tacoma too long, (bought it from a guy who never even put it in 4x4) I don't know alot about how to put it in RR Diff Lock. I'm just getting into off-roading with it but I'm eager to get the Lock button working. So far I have this....I come to a complete stop, shift into 4lo, and push the button. The light continues to blink although it is in 4lo and if I shift into 1st gear and move up about 10 ft. the diff lock will lock in. When I want to take it out, I do the same thing I did to put it in but the light stays completely solid even when I push the button to disengage the locker. I have to shift into 2wd, aput it in reverse and give it some gas to disengage. There is a loud noise when it disengages so I dont know if that's right or not. PLEASE HELP!!!!!

2. May 1, 2008 at 3:16 PM
    Janster

Janster Old & Forgetful

Member:
    First Name:
    Jandy
    Lancaster, PA
    Vehicle:
    2016 GMC Canyon SLT w/ LineX and....
    So - you've been able to get it to engage after you start moving...? And the light goes on solid?

Disengaging it can be tricky. If there's any 'torque' on the axle - it may not disengage until there's no torque.