Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 1st Gen. Tacomas

Notices

A/C fuse keeps blowing

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-03-2010, 02:07 PM   #1
Gooch814 [OP] Gooch814 is offline
Member
Gooch814 will become famous soon enough
 
Gooch814's Avatar
Air Force: 20th FW SSgt
Name: Jeff
Joined: Mar 2010, #34188
Location: Sumter SC
Age: 32
Gender: Male
Posts: 70
Gooch814's Tacoma Gallery
A/C fuse keeps blowing

So I bought my 2004 Tacoma like 3 weeks ago with 41k miles on it and the other day the wife turns on the a/c. The light on the button was on for a sec and went out along with the a/c. I checked the fuse and it indeed was blown. I replaced it and fired the a/c. Same thing, light on and light off with another blown fuse.

I guess Ill take it to the dealership and see what they say. I look forward to them saying its my compressor and cant wait to pay out the ass already after 3 weeks
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 02:16 PM   #2
Senior Member
Danosabre is one of the sharper tools in the shedDanosabre is one of the sharper tools in the shedDanosabre is one of the sharper tools in the shedDanosabre is one of the sharper tools in the shedDanosabre is one of the sharper tools in the shedDanosabre is one of the sharper tools in the shedDanosabre is one of the sharper tools in the shedDanosabre is one of the sharper tools in the shedDanosabre is one of the sharper tools in the shedDanosabre is one of the sharper tools in the shedDanosabre is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Danosabre's Avatar
Name: Dan
Joined: Oct 2009, #24388
Location: Gardner,Ma
Gender: Dude
Posts: 1,053
Danosabre's Tacoma Gallery
Did you buy it from a stealer or private ? If you bought from a stealer they should fix it for nuthin. I'd check the wires first at the ac see if they are frayed or broken.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 02:40 PM   #3
Gooch814 [OP] Gooch814 is offline
Member
Gooch814 will become famous soon enough
 
Gooch814's Avatar
Air Force: 20th FW SSgt
Name: Jeff
Joined: Mar 2010, #34188
Location: Sumter SC
Age: 32
Gender: Male
Posts: 70
Gooch814's Tacoma Gallery
OK well after blowing 3 10a fuses I threw a 20 in that bitch and it ran fine. Im still gonna take it in though.

Bought it from dealership by the way
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 02:47 PM   #4
Gooch814 [OP] Gooch814 is offline
Member
Gooch814 will become famous soon enough
 
Gooch814's Avatar
Air Force: 20th FW SSgt
Name: Jeff
Joined: Mar 2010, #34188
Location: Sumter SC
Age: 32
Gender: Male
Posts: 70
Gooch814's Tacoma Gallery
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 04:24 PM   #6
I need to go return some videotapes...
Seabass is one of the sharper tools in the shedSeabass is one of the sharper tools in the shedSeabass is one of the sharper tools in the shedSeabass is one of the sharper tools in the shedSeabass is one of the sharper tools in the shedSeabass is one of the sharper tools in the shedSeabass is one of the sharper tools in the shedSeabass is one of the sharper tools in the shedSeabass is one of the sharper tools in the shedSeabass is one of the sharper tools in the shedSeabass is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Seabass's Avatar
Name: Adam
Joined: Apr 2010, #34455
Location: AZ
Gender: Male
Posts: 4,843
Seabass's Tacoma Gallery
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 04:51 PM   #7
4WD 4WD is offline
cRaZy oLdmAn
4WD is one of the sharper tools in the shed4WD is one of the sharper tools in the shed4WD is one of the sharper tools in the shed4WD is one of the sharper tools in the shed4WD is one of the sharper tools in the shed4WD is one of the sharper tools in the shed4WD is one of the sharper tools in the shed4WD is one of the sharper tools in the shed4WD is one of the sharper tools in the shed4WD is one of the sharper tools in the shed4WD is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
4WD's Avatar
Name: Doug
Joined: Jul 2009, #19185
Location: Lakeside,CA
Age: 56
Gender: Male
Posts: 22,054
4WD's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gooch814 View Post
OK well after blowing 3 10a fuses I threw a 20 in that bitch and it ran fine. Im still gonna take it in though.

Bought it from dealership by the way

Bro', what are you doing ? You NEVER change out a fuse with one of a higher amperage, . I'm not sure what the electrical specs are for amps are, but if it says 10 & you throw in a 20. You are fucking up & I don't care if "That bitch is running fine." You've got a short,an overload, you're gonna fuck up more electrical & possibly cause a fire !!!! (see previous pic)
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 05:45 PM   #8
White Tank
SkyHighTacoma has much to be proud ofSkyHighTacoma has much to be proud ofSkyHighTacoma has much to be proud ofSkyHighTacoma has much to be proud ofSkyHighTacoma has much to be proud ofSkyHighTacoma has much to be proud ofSkyHighTacoma has much to be proud ofSkyHighTacoma has much to be proud of
 
SkyHighTacoma's Avatar
Name: Josh
Joined: Aug 2009, #21054
Location: Angleton,Texas
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,232
SkyHighTacoma's Tacoma Gallery
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 06:16 PM   #9
Gooch814 [OP] Gooch814 is offline
Member
Gooch814 will become famous soon enough
 
Gooch814's Avatar
Air Force: 20th FW SSgt
Name: Jeff
Joined: Mar 2010, #34188
Location: Sumter SC
Age: 32
Gender: Male
Posts: 70
Gooch814's Tacoma Gallery
Yep I took the 20 out after reading up and realizing it was a bad idea.
Thought the fire pic was funny and had to do it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 08:00 AM   #10
Member
MK ULTRA is a name known to allMK ULTRA is a name known to allMK ULTRA is a name known to allMK ULTRA is a name known to allMK ULTRA is a name known to allMK ULTRA is a name known to all
Name: JIM
Joined: Mar 2010, #33054
Location: Huntsville Ala
Gender: Male
Posts: 91
MK ULTRA's Tacoma Gallery
Did it have an after market radio in it??

If so then someone has been F#cking with the electrical.

Thats why I bought one with the factory radio.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 08:23 AM   #11
Member
rushr is on a distinguished road
Joined: May 2010, #36467
Gender: Male
Posts: 48
rushr's Tacoma Gallery
Check the wires to the compressor clutch coil and pressure switch to see if maybe they are damaged. If they look ok unplug them and see if the fuse still blows.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 09:48 AM   #12
Gooch814 [OP] Gooch814 is offline
Member
Gooch814 will become famous soon enough
 
Gooch814's Avatar
Air Force: 20th FW SSgt
Name: Jeff
Joined: Mar 2010, #34188
Location: Sumter SC
Age: 32
Gender: Male
Posts: 70
Gooch814's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by MK ULTRA View Post
Did it have an after market radio in it??

If so then someone has been F#cking with the electrical.

Thats why I bought one with the factory radio.
Nope, factory radio
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 09:50 AM   #13
Gooch814 [OP] Gooch814 is offline
Member
Gooch814 will become famous soon enough
 
Gooch814's Avatar
Air Force: 20th FW SSgt
Name: Jeff
Joined: Mar 2010, #34188
Location: Sumter SC
Age: 32
Gender: Male
Posts: 70
Gooch814's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by rushr View Post
Check the wires to the compressor clutch coil and pressure switch to see if maybe they are damaged. If they look ok unplug them and see if the fuse still blows.
Yea thats what I'm going to do when I get outta work. I don't even know where the compressor is, going to have to dig.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 10:29 AM   #14
Member
rushr is on a distinguished road
Joined: May 2010, #36467
Gender: Male
Posts: 48
rushr's Tacoma Gallery
The compressor and pressure switch are on the passenger side of engine just below the power steering fluid reservoir. Very easy to see the wiring and connectors.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2010, 10:52 AM   #15
Gooch814 [OP] Gooch814 is offline
Member
Gooch814 will become famous soon enough
 
Gooch814's Avatar
Air Force: 20th FW SSgt
Name: Jeff
Joined: Mar 2010, #34188
Location: Sumter SC
Age: 32
Gender: Male
Posts: 70
Gooch814's Tacoma Gallery
Just wanted to give an update. At first the dealer thought it was just the AC compressor clutch and when they put the new one in, the compressor started smoking. So they just threw in a whole new compressor and now good to go.

Luckily they didnt charge me a cent, so I am very happy.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 09:56 AM   #16
Taco Rookie
lepedog23 has much to be proud oflepedog23 has much to be proud oflepedog23 has much to be proud oflepedog23 has much to be proud oflepedog23 has much to be proud oflepedog23 has much to be proud oflepedog23 has much to be proud oflepedog23 has much to be proud oflepedog23 has much to be proud oflepedog23 has much to be proud of
 
lepedog23's Avatar
Name: Frank
Joined: Mar 2010, #34221
Location: Huntington Park
Age: 31
Gender: Dude
Posts: 964
lepedog23's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via Yahoo to lepedog23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gooch814 View Post
So I bought my 2004 Tacoma like 3 weeks ago with 41k miles on it and the other day the wife turns on the a/c. The light on the button was on for a sec and went out along with the a/c. I checked the fuse and it indeed was blown. I replaced it and fired the a/c. Same thing, light on and light off with another blown fuse.

I guess Ill take it to the dealership and see what they say. I look forward to them saying its my compressor and cant wait to pay out the ass already after 3 weeks

Where are the fuses? I just bought an 01 dc and the AC gets cold but I don't hear clutch engage. It's cold but not cold like I'm used to with other cars. I charged it and still blows same cool air. I hope it's not the AC compressor
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i need help!! fuse keeps blowing! jayhud11 Audio & Video 13 02-07-2012 01:50 PM
AMP fuse keeps blowing :( i need help! xwillx93 Audio & Video 11 07-31-2011 04:43 PM
30 amp A2 fuse blowing marley119 Toyota Trucks & SUVs 0 04-01-2011 10:07 AM
Fuse keeps blowing MMazz365 2nd Gen. Tacomas 18 03-19-2011 05:15 PM
Keep blowing my fuse... BulletToothTony Technical Chat 4 02-07-2011 01:37 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.