Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 1st Gen. Tacomas

Notices

Speedometer Error With Tire Change

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-26-2008, 06:24 PM   #1
uncleelihu [OP] uncleelihu is offline
Junior Member
uncleelihu is on a distinguished road
Coast Guard:
Joined: May 2008, #6888
Location: At The Lake
Gender: Male
Posts: 25
uncleelihu's Tacoma Gallery
Speedometer Error With Tire Change

Hi Folks, newbie here.

I recently bought a 2002 PreRunner which came with 31" BFG 265/75R/16 tires. Not the tires I wanted so replaced them with 265/70R/16, which is the size my truck originally came with.

LOT smoother ride, but now the speedometer is off. On the highway today, 70 mph on the speedometer was about 66 mph on the GPS.

The speedometer was just about right on as compared to the GPS with the taller tires.

So, what procedure do I use to recalibrate the speedo to match up with the new (original size) tires?

Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2008, 06:27 PM   #2
Bangers Runner
GotLift37 is one of the sharper tools in the shedGotLift37 is one of the sharper tools in the shedGotLift37 is one of the sharper tools in the shedGotLift37 is one of the sharper tools in the shedGotLift37 is one of the sharper tools in the shedGotLift37 is one of the sharper tools in the shedGotLift37 is one of the sharper tools in the shedGotLift37 is one of the sharper tools in the shedGotLift37 is one of the sharper tools in the shedGotLift37 is one of the sharper tools in the shedGotLift37 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
GotLift37's Avatar
Name: Matt
Joined: Apr 2008, #6185
Location: down south
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,741
GotLift37's Tacoma Gallery
Well see there is a thing with the GPS. its usually a tad bit slower for some reason. Something to do with the satelites and such. With the other tires you may have thought it was right, but in reality it was off.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2008, 06:36 PM   #3
With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine.
chris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
chris4x4's Avatar
Name: FlimFlubberJAM
Joined: May 2008, #6497
Location: Tenoe, AZ
Gender: Male
Posts: 97,460
chris4x4's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by GotLift37 View Post
Well see there is a thing with the GPS. its usually a tad bit slower for some reason. Something to do with the satelites and such. With the other tires you may have thought it was right, but in reality it was off.
The GPS does receive a false signal from teh satilites to throw off the accuracy, but, it does not affect the speed read out. Just the Altitude and location. The speed on most GPS units is +/- .2 mph. Just an FYI.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2008, 07:17 PM   #4
Offroad Enthusiast
BrianPK is on a distinguished road
Joined: Mar 2007, #1083
Location: Modesto, California
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Posts: 133
BrianPK's Tacoma Gallery
Send a message via AIM to BrianPK
the speedo on the tacoma is computerized. you'll need an electronic speed calibrator to re set your speedo. a few switches, and it's good to go.

http://www.4x4wire.com/toyota/tech/tacoma_speedometer/

this will help.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2008, 07:35 PM   #5
uncleelihu [OP] uncleelihu is offline
Junior Member
uncleelihu is on a distinguished road
Coast Guard:
Joined: May 2008, #6888
Location: At The Lake
Gender: Male
Posts: 25
uncleelihu's Tacoma Gallery
Thanks to all for the replies.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianPK View Post
the speedo on the tacoma is computerized. you'll need an electronic speed calibrator to re set your speedo. a few switches, and it's good to go.

http://www.4x4wire.com/toyota/tech/tacoma_speedometer/

this will help.
That'll give me something to chew on

I am making the assumption that the speedo was correct with the original factory tires, so the previous owner somehow recalibrated the speedo when he put the larger tires on, since they were larger than the originals, and the speedo was correct with the larger tires.

Anyway, the link may provide the info I need.

About 25 years ago I had a Dodge van with a mis-calibrated speedometer. Turned out that someone had replaced the transmission with one from a car, and so the speedo gear was sending the wrong info to the speedometer. I stopped by a tranny shop and picked up another one and it was a simple replacement on the side of the tranny and all was well. This new "tronic" stuff should be simpler, but sometimes seems more involved.

Regards.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speedometer error correction KentuckyEd 2nd Gen. Tacomas 11 01-21-2011 10:25 PM
Acceptable speedometer error? stro1965 2nd Gen. Tacomas 25 06-08-2009 09:17 PM
speedometer change with bigger tire? cantac09 Wheels & Tires 7 05-04-2009 11:32 AM
Tacoma Speedometer Error neelas007 2nd Gen. Tacomas 14 11-26-2008 07:47 PM
speedometer error 65Tuxedo 2nd Gen. Tacomas 24 08-07-2008 10:39 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.