1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Tailgate hinge issues

Discussion in '1st Gen. Tacomas (1995-2004)' started by Montanaman, May 19, 2010.

1. May 19, 2010 at 1:41 PM
    Montanaman

Montanaman [OP] New Member

Member:
    Montana
    Vehicle:
    2004 4x4
    Hey guys, newbie here. I just ordered a new tailgate shell for my taco as my last was almost bent in half from years of motorbikes, 4 wheelers and such. I got shell from autopartswholesale online primed and ready to be painted. However, after gutting my tailgate I was unable to remove the bottom hinges that bolt directly to the truck from the tailgate. The bolt that holds it to the truck came out no prob, but I cannot get the hinge of the tailgate and stripped the star nuts out.

Obviously the hinges are not on the new shell and I have looked everywhere for just the hinges, as that is all I need to finish the job. Any ideas as where I can order them? I imagine the dealer would have them somewhere, but I dont feel like seeling my firstborn to get em.

Thanks fellas

2. May 19, 2010 at 4:35 PM
    PB65stang

PB65stang Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Patrick
    Kansas City
    Vehicle:
    2016 F150 Lariat 4x4
    5100s (2.5" front), OEM Raptor wheels, 315/70/17 BFGs, Undercover, tint, Weathertechs.
    Junkyard?

3. May 19, 2010 at 8:47 PM
    Manlaan

Manlaan Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Greg
    Riverton, Utah
    Vehicle:
    2002 XtraCab SR5 V6 4x4 Black
    See Signature
    I think I'd just drill out the old bolts personally.