Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Garage > Builds > 2nd Gen. Builds

Notices

de6w6it's documentary

Old 05-21-2013, 05:50 PM   #1
de6w6it is on a distinguished road

Name: DeWitt
de6w6it's Tacoma Gallery
de6w6it's documentary

got my first taco six weeks ago, and I am going to use this thread as a documentary of my truck's progress/upgrades/mods/maintenance.
at the dealership:

removed badges and painted front emblem:

3 days later, I found a broken leaf spring:

after receiving a set of tsb leafs from a member on here, I installed them.

When I bought the truck, it had a pretty dented tailgate, so I found a new one and put that on. It actually had an oem backup camera in the handle, which I had no use for, so I sold it on ebay (which helped pay for the tailgate ):

I had been driving my 350k miles SAS '88 4runner for the past 5 years or so (the build thread is in my signature), and finally had the funds to upgrade to a better daily driver.
Old 05-21-2013, 05:59 PM   #2

de6w6it's Tacoma Gallery
I painted my wheels black. I primed them, sprayed them with gloss black enamel, and then sprayed them with clear gloss. The center caps I sprayed with plasti-dip:

I added 6 tie-downs in the bed under the bed mounting bolts. I ground down one side of the washer, but that was all I had to do. The tie-downs I got already had a 1/2" hole in them. The part the bolt goes though is double layer. I used these:
http://www.armysurpluswarehouse.com/...-tie-down.html

I picked up a cargo net from ebay to keep small light things from sliding around:

To keep the net from flying around when empty and on the highway, I made two loops out of paracord to tie the bottom two corners of the net to the front two tie-downs:
Old 05-22-2013, 08:09 AM   #3

de6w6it's Tacoma Gallery
I found a guy on ebay making Delrin shift knobs. Super cool stuff, and he shipped it the same day I did a buy it now.

And I got a shorty antena:

Also picked up some OEM all weather floor mats (made in USA!)