Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 2nd Gen. Tacomas

Notices

Transmission Fluid question

Old 07-20-2010, 07:09 PM   #1
sbx22 is on a distinguished road
sbx22's Tacoma Gallery
Transmission Fluid question

Recently, went to my local Toyota dealer, and got a tranny flush. Here are the details. The service was $92, the flushing process itself was $29.99, and then it says 17@$6.80. I'm assuming that's 17 quarts of tranny fluid, automatic WS. Did I just get raped? This is my first time getting the tranny flush done.
Old 07-20-2010, 07:31 PM   #2
larryde09 is one of the sharper tools in the shedlarryde09 is one of the sharper tools in the shedlarryde09 is one of the sharper tools in the shedlarryde09 is one of the sharper tools in the shedlarryde09 is one of the sharper tools in the shedlarryde09 is one of the sharper tools in the shedlarryde09 is one of the sharper tools in the shedlarryde09 is one of the sharper tools in the shedlarryde09 is one of the sharper tools in the shedlarryde09 is one of the sharper tools in the shedlarryde09 is one of the sharper tools in the shed

Air Force: Vet: C-17 Avionics Engineer; Electrical Research Engineer
Name: Larry
larryde09's Tacoma Gallery
That sounds like a lot! Both in cost and quantity. Check your owner's manual, it should have the capacity in it, I doubt it's 17 quarts. Standard procedure for changing auto trans fluid is to let it drain and then fill it up with the same amount that drained. You never completely drain all of the fluid out of the trans, and this is the way it is typically done at certified shops too.
Old 07-20-2010, 07:37 PM   #3