1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Shifting the 6spd manual quickly

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by Accel Junky, Oct 19, 2010.

?

Is the 1-2 full throttle upshift jerky with the manual trans?

Poll closed Nov 18, 2010.
  1. Yes, it's hard to upshift 1-2 during hard acceleration

43 vote(s)
    43.9%
  2. No, you need to adjust your technique.

55 vote(s)
    56.1%
  1. Oct 19, 2010 at 7:59 PM
    Accel Junky

Accel Junky [OP] Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Daniel
    Kennesaw, GA
    Vehicle:
    2010 4x4 6spd DC
    Just curious...I'm a veteran manual trans guy and can quickly and precisely. I've noticed in the Tacoma so far if I nail it in first and go to snatch 2nd the truck bucks rather badly on the upshift. I really have to slow the shift down quite a bit (pause with clutch in second before releasing) to get a smooth upshift.

Am I too used to sports cars or is my technique off?

2. Oct 19, 2010 at 8:01 PM
    brow

brow Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Andy
    Minnesota
    Vehicle:
    2020 Dodge Ram 1500
    you are too used to sports cars, its a truck, and it shifts like a truck. I drove my buddys A4 turbo the other day, the difference between shift feel was so radically different I thought I wasnt even engaging the transmission.

3. Oct 19, 2010 at 8:18 PM
    Avsguy33

Avsguy33 Well-Known Member

Member:
    I would agree with the sports car thing. All my cars are manual and if I shift my Taco like I do my GTO it feels like its coming apart.

4. Oct 19, 2010 at 8:34 PM
    ouyin2000

ouyin2000 Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Ryan