Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 2nd Gen. Tacomas

Notices

Viper alarm/remote start question

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-02-2010, 05:38 PM   #1
monte1985 [OP] monte1985 is offline
Senior Member
monte1985 is a jewel in the roughmonte1985 is a jewel in the roughmonte1985 is a jewel in the rough
 
monte1985's Avatar
Name: Stan
Joined: Feb 2009, #13775
Location: Lancaster NY
Age: 40
Gender: Male
Posts: 110
monte1985's Tacoma Gallery
Viper alarm/remote start question

Well i finished installing a viper VSS5000 Alarm/remote start with smart start for my iphone in my truck . Im having a problem with the auto lights not turning off . I added a relay to pulse the door trigger using the arm wire from the alarm . Some times it worked and sometimes it didnt. When it dont work right the doors wont lock . So i ended up just disconnecting it and not worrying about it for now . Another thing i noticed was the driver door unlocks when you remote start the truck and it does not re lock unless you shut the remote start off . The alarm it self though is armed and if you open the driver door the alarm goes off but truck stays running . Are the viper remote starts supposed to unlock the door before it starts ? I swear when i was hooking everything up before i made final connections everything worked fine and the doors locked when i used the remote start . Let me know . Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 05:41 PM   #2
Senior Member
wolfdog2314 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwolfdog2314 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwolfdog2314 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwolfdog2314 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwolfdog2314 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwolfdog2314 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwolfdog2314 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwolfdog2314 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwolfdog2314 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwolfdog2314 is one of the sharper tools in the shedwolfdog2314 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
Joined: Jul 2009, #19745
Location: Brush Prairie
Gender: Male
Posts: 564
wolfdog2314's Tacoma Gallery
I Am no help to you, but I have a simple question...

U can start your truck from your iPhone? I wanna do that!
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 05:44 PM   #3
Senior Member
t4daddy is one of the sharper tools in the shedt4daddy is one of the sharper tools in the shedt4daddy is one of the sharper tools in the shedt4daddy is one of the sharper tools in the shedt4daddy is one of the sharper tools in the shedt4daddy is one of the sharper tools in the shedt4daddy is one of the sharper tools in the shedt4daddy is one of the sharper tools in the shedt4daddy is one of the sharper tools in the shedt4daddy is one of the sharper tools in the shedt4daddy is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
t4daddy's Avatar
Joined: Jun 2010, #39041
Location: North Alabama
Gender: Guy
Posts: 4,596
t4daddy's Tacoma Gallery
I'm wanting one of these so bad, was the install very hard? I'm competant on radios and amps and crossovers and such. I am also decent at soldering having a background including RC cars and trucks, just didn't won't to get in over my head.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 06:25 PM   #4
monte1985 [OP] monte1985 is offline
Senior Member
monte1985 is a jewel in the roughmonte1985 is a jewel in the roughmonte1985 is a jewel in the rough
 
monte1985's Avatar
Name: Stan
Joined: Feb 2009, #13775
Location: Lancaster NY
Age: 40
Gender: Male
Posts: 110
monte1985's Tacoma Gallery
Yeah really was no problem. Just had to get familiar with the wires on the truck and where the wires from the alarm and stuff went . I did have a problem where the wiring diagram that came with it was wrong and the one online was right . Think that was done cause they not supposed to be self installed. Sounds to me you would be able to do it . Makes it easy with the wiring schematic from directwire telling all the wires in the truck and where they are . i also found the username and password for the activation site for the smartstart activation and to test it and make sure it works so you dont have to have any one activate it .
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 06:33 PM   #5
Senior Member
t4daddy is one of the sharper tools in the shedt4daddy is one of the sharper tools in the shedt4daddy is one of the sharper tools in the shedt4daddy is one of the sharper tools in the shedt4daddy is one of the sharper tools in the shedt4daddy is one of the sharper tools in the shedt4daddy is one of the sharper tools in the shedt4daddy is one of the sharper tools in the shedt4daddy is one of the sharper tools in the shedt4daddy is one of the sharper tools in the shedt4daddy is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
t4daddy's Avatar
Joined: Jun 2010, #39041
Location: North Alabama
Gender: Guy
Posts: 4,596
t4daddy's Tacoma Gallery
Thanks, maybe Santa will bring myself one.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 06:33 PM   #6
♥ Emergency Medicine
m0nster986 is one of the sharper tools in the shedm0nster986 is one of the sharper tools in the shedm0nster986 is one of the sharper tools in the shedm0nster986 is one of the sharper tools in the shedm0nster986 is one of the sharper tools in the shedm0nster986 is one of the sharper tools in the shedm0nster986 is one of the sharper tools in the shedm0nster986 is one of the sharper tools in the shedm0nster986 is one of the sharper tools in the shedm0nster986 is one of the sharper tools in the shedm0nster986 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
m0nster986's Avatar
EMS: B.S, NREMT
Joined: May 2010, #37794
Location: SoCal
Gender: Male
Posts: 348
m0nster986's Tacoma Gallery
Remote start -> Car is still armed and locked until YOU unlock it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 06:36 PM   #7
monte1985 [OP] monte1985 is offline
Senior Member
monte1985 is a jewel in the roughmonte1985 is a jewel in the roughmonte1985 is a jewel in the rough
 
monte1985's Avatar
Name: Stan
Joined: Feb 2009, #13775
Location: Lancaster NY
Age: 40
Gender: Male
Posts: 110
monte1985's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by m0nster986 View Post
Remote start > Car is armed and locked until you unlock it.

I have the truck locked. press the button to remote start it and it unlocks the door . You would think it shoudl stay locked . Seemed everything worked right til i disconnected my battery. i set all the options back up . So i dont know
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 06:47 PM   #8
Nerdfighter
ppeter is on a distinguished road
 
ppeter's Avatar
Name: Paul
Joined: Jan 2010, #29818
Location: Twin Falls Idaho
Age: 40
Gender: Male
Posts: 40
ppeter's Tacoma Gallery
Can't help you troubleshoot the problem but I just had the vss4000 installed on our 2010 DC this last weekend and it remains locked when remote started and you can unlock it without turning it off. Hope its not to hard to resolve the problem. Good luck.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 06:50 PM   #9
monte1985 [OP] monte1985 is offline
Senior Member
monte1985 is a jewel in the roughmonte1985 is a jewel in the roughmonte1985 is a jewel in the rough
 
monte1985's Avatar
Name: Stan
Joined: Feb 2009, #13775
Location: Lancaster NY
Age: 40
Gender: Male
Posts: 110
monte1985's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppeter View Post
Can't help you troubleshoot the problem but I just had the vss4000 installed on our 2010 DC this last weekend and it remains locked when remote started and you can unlock it without turning it off. Hope its not to hard to resolve the problem. Good luck.
Thanks see i would swear when i was first hooking it up temp to make sure everything worked it did stay locked . Then put it all together and wired and disconnected battery again and then it all did not seem to work right . I even set the alarm back to factory settings and that didnt help . Went over my hookups when i had it hooked up temporary and they all the same . Beats me
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 07:14 PM   #10
Senior Member
SilverStreak05 is a splendid one to beholdSilverStreak05 is a splendid one to beholdSilverStreak05 is a splendid one to beholdSilverStreak05 is a splendid one to beholdSilverStreak05 is a splendid one to beholdSilverStreak05 is a splendid one to beholdSilverStreak05 is a splendid one to behold
Joined: Feb 2010, #31953
Location: NorCal
Gender: Male
Posts: 118
SilverStreak05's Tacoma Gallery
The doors should stay locked when you hit the auto start. The truck should also shut down if the alarm goes off, otherwise anyone could just jump in and drive off. Sounds like you've got a few things hooked up incorrectly.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2010, 07:16 PM   #11
monte1985 [OP] monte1985 is offline
Senior Member
monte1985 is a jewel in the roughmonte1985 is a jewel in the roughmonte1985 is a jewel in the rough
 
monte1985's Avatar
Name: Stan
Joined: Feb 2009, #13775
Location: Lancaster NY
Age: 40
Gender: Male
Posts: 110
monte1985's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverStreak05 View Post
The doors should stay locked when you hit the auto start. The truck should also shut down if the alarm goes off, otherwise anyone could just jump in and drive off. Sounds like you've got a few things hooked up incorrectly.

well if you open the door the alarm goes off and if you step on brake it shuts off . Have the doors wired to the negative door trigger on alarm all with diodes. have the factory arm and disarm wires from alarm to the factory arm and disarm on the truck .
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 04:19 PM   #12
Senior Member
CtTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedCtTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedCtTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedCtTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedCtTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedCtTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedCtTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedCtTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedCtTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedCtTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shedCtTaco is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
CtTaco's Avatar
Name: Eric
Joined: May 2008, #6392
Location: Connecticut
Gender: Male
Posts: 628
CtTaco's Tacoma Gallery
Either you have a disarm wire attached to your unlock wire or the system is programmed to pulse the unlock wire before turning on the ignition to disarm a factory alarm ( which tacomas do not have unless you had the dealer install one) a dei system should not need a relay to control locks as they are a low current trigger. Double check your connectiions and setup
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 04:28 PM   #13
monte1985 [OP] monte1985 is offline
Senior Member
monte1985 is a jewel in the roughmonte1985 is a jewel in the roughmonte1985 is a jewel in the rough
 
monte1985's Avatar
Name: Stan
Joined: Feb 2009, #13775
Location: Lancaster NY
Age: 40
Gender: Male
Posts: 110
monte1985's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by CtTaco View Post
Either you have a disarm wire attached to your unlock wire or the system is programmed to pulse the unlock wire before turning on the ignition to disarm a factory alarm ( which tacomas do not have unless you had the dealer install one) a dei system should not need a relay to control locks as they are a low current trigger. Double check your connections and setup

What i have is i hooked the factory arm and disarm wires from the alarm module to the factory arm and disarm wires on the truck the purple and green/black in the drivers kick panel. The doors lock and unlock . I did not hook up the lock wires from the alarm that the alarm controls. Maybe i need to do that and not hook up the factory arm and disarm wires from the alarm . That may be why when i tried hooking the relay up to turn off the auto lights the locks would not work right .
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 04:47 PM   #14
Senior Member
Raylo is a splendid one to beholdRaylo is a splendid one to beholdRaylo is a splendid one to beholdRaylo is a splendid one to beholdRaylo is a splendid one to beholdRaylo is a splendid one to beholdRaylo is a splendid one to beholdRaylo is a splendid one to behold
 
Raylo's Avatar
Navy: USN, nuclear submarines
Joined: Nov 2008, #10878
Location: MD, USA
Gender: Male
Posts: 424
Raylo's Tacoma Gallery
"Factory arm and disarm" are intended to interface with a factory alarm system. I don't know about you but my '09 didn't have a factory alarm system. You need to connect the Viper's lock and unlock wires to the Tacoma's lock (violet) and unlock (green/black) wires in the kick panel.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 04:54 PM   #15
monte1985 [OP] monte1985 is offline
Senior Member
monte1985 is a jewel in the roughmonte1985 is a jewel in the roughmonte1985 is a jewel in the rough
 
monte1985's Avatar
Name: Stan
Joined: Feb 2009, #13775
Location: Lancaster NY
Age: 40
Gender: Male
Posts: 110
monte1985's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raylo View Post
"Factory arm and disarm" are intended to interface with a factory alarm system. I don't know about you but my '09 didn't have a factory alarm system. You need to connect the Viper's lock and unlock wires to the Tacoma's lock (violet) and unlock (green/black) wires in the kick panel.

Yeah i dont have a factory alarm .Thats what im going to do is connect the lock and unlock from the alarm to those wires and that should fix it .
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
viper smart start remote start system stang88 Product Reviews 13 02-02-2010 09:44 AM
FS: Autopage Alarm (remote start, keyless entry, alarm) w/bypass. CAMZTRD Buy / Sell / Trade 12 01-05-2010 06:46 PM
viper alarm with remote start iphone app. MotoXdoer 2nd Gen. Tacomas 2 12-29-2009 05:20 PM
Viper Remote Start 2 way Alarm 5701 $113 tim920 Deals & Coupons 0 10-30-2009 05:54 AM
Alarm Remote Start question Cheesycook Audio & Video 2 09-01-2009 01:29 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.