1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Auto LSD Question - I Know, I Know...

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by tonyreo, Dec 5, 2010.

1. Dec 5, 2010 at 5:30 AM
    tonyreo

tonyreo [OP] Well-Known Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Tony
    N.E. Ohio
    I'm new to the Toyota 4WD stuff so...
    I have a 2011 DC SB 4WD V6 Auto.
    When I turn VSC off the Auto LSD comes on, correct?
    Is this a good mode for highway driving in snow?
    I read the owners manual several times but it seems a bit confusing to me.
    Any advice on driving in these conditions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

2. Dec 5, 2010 at 6:03 AM
    jandrews

jandrews Hootin' and Hollerin'

Member:
    Vehicle:
    '09 FourDubDee TRD OR
    A-TRUCK, Fat Kid in the Bed, Custom Pinstriping, Ported and Polished Muffler Bearing, Hi-Performance Bed Mat
    Not really. I would only turn it on if you're having trouble getting moving in 4Hi.

4Hi already has VSC on along with TRAC traction control, and you should leave both of them on in snow-on-asphalt. You'll be amazed how stable the truck is.

ABS can be a bit touchy in snow on these vehicles...recommend engine braking to help control your speed.

3. Dec 5, 2010 at 9:04 AM
    David K

David K Well-Known Member

Member:
    Pala Mesa, California
    Vehicle:
    2010 4WD Off Road DC
    Differential Breather Mod Light Bar: 4 Cree LED lamps Bilstein 5100s Ride Rite Air Bags
    "When I turn VSC off the Auto LSD comes on, correct?":