Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 2nd Gen. Tacomas

Notices

living at low rpms

Old 08-29-2008, 10:29 PM   #1
misha1031 is on a distinguished road
misha1031's Tacoma Gallery
living at low rpms

Hi all
New to the forum and have a quick question, I'm hoping everyone with some experience with the Tacoma can help. I have a 6 speed manual with a 6 cyl engine. I've been driving manuals for 35 years and wouldnt want to drive anything else. Anyway, my hearing tells me that by 2500 rpm the engine has basically started to strain and its time to upshift, but that seems really low. Also, i find that I am actually driving (at times) below 2000 rpm, sometimes at 1800 or so. The engine feels strong and doesnt complain, it doesnt sound like its lugging at all. Does anyone else notice that this engine seems to want to live in the low rpm range? Anyone think I'm doing any damage staying at the lowest end of the scale? It just doesnt seem to want to go much higher than that anyway. Need some reassurance that this is what everyone else is finding. Thanks
Old 08-29-2008, 10:34 PM   #2
With sufficient thrust, pigs fly just fine.
chris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shedchris4x4 is one of the sharper tools in the shed

Name: FlimFlubberJAM
chris4x4's Tacoma Gallery
Welcome to TW!