Notices

Purchasing a 2011-2012 Tacoma, Need Some Help

Old 02-07-2011, 07:07 AM   #1
mspropst is on a distinguished road
Name: Matthew
mspropst's Tacoma Gallery
Purchasing a 2011-2012 Tacoma, Need Some Help

Hi guys,

Below is an intro to my vehicle experience. Need some help deciding what to get on the Tacoma straight from the dealership and what not to. Also included are things that are already set in my decision.

Short intro, you can skip this paragraph if you want: I'm new to the Toyota world, never actually owned one before. I've had a LOT, and I mean a LOT of trucks/SUVs. In high school I had 1995 Jeep Wrangler that got passed from brother to brother. Drove it from 2004-2006. Then got hit by some idiot and repaired it. In the meantime drove my moms 2004 Explorer 4x4. Then back to the Jeep for a few months before college. Then at college drove my brother's 2003 Explorer Sport since my parents decided to get him a graduation gift aka the last car they'd pay for. My dad wanted a new truck 6 months later and so his excuse to my mom is he wanted me to have a new truck and gave me his 2003 F150 4x2. Then got that totalled, and moved up to a Dodge 5.7 L Hemi (4x4 of course). Then the gas mileage killed of course and my dad bought a 2009 Chevy Malibu of all things (first car we've owned since I was born). I took off to medical school in the caribbean and he gave my little brother the car. Drive the Jeep on my breaks back. Meaning I am now without a car that can make highway drives and my parent's have moved to that "graduation gift" and looking for a truck with payments between 500-600. I've looked at the Tacomas and they look really sweet. I remember guys getting stuck on the beach where we would go offroading and the Toyota guys sitting there waiting to pull the idiots out. They pittied me in my 2.5 liter, 4 cyclinder and pulled me out on occasion, but charged the tools with their huge V8 Chevys/Dodges/Fords that got themselves stuck in impossible situations. So m