1. Welcome to Tacoma World!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Tacoma discussion topics
    • Communicate privately with other Tacoma owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

noob buying advice

Discussion in '2nd Gen. Tacomas (2005-2015)' started by rosqeaux, Mar 3, 2011.

1. Mar 3, 2011 at 1:54 PM
    rosqeaux

rosqeaux [OP] Badjes?

Member:
    yes, I'm sure I'm about the 5 millionth person to post on this topic, but I'll try to be a focused as possible in what I'm looking for. I've been perusing the forums a bit and you all seem like a helpful bunch, so here goes....

I've been driving a subaru outback for the last 10 years or so and have decided to step up to a 4wd truck. I plan to do a decent amount of off road driving. Nothing insane, no racing or rock crawling, but definitely using it on dicey roads, sand, etc (SW deserts and mountains) that my subie just can't handle. I also plan to do some light hauling (mostly lumber to feed my sawdust habit), but no towing. I'd also like to use it for family trips (wife+1kid), so a double cab seems necessary. Happily I don't need it for long commute trips.

So I'm focusing on a new 4wd tacoma short bed double cab. I've been driving manual trans my whole life, but I'd probably go with an auto since 1) I'm getting old, 2) the wife doesn't drive manuals and 3) the 6sp manual on the tacoma seems to get a lot of flack.

If I'm not mistaken the double cab only comes with a V6, correct? I could deal with the 4, but it doesn't sound like an option with a double cab.