Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 2nd Gen. Tacomas

Notices

Subs on stock head unit?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-24-2011, 09:02 PM   #1
HORRD [OP] HORRD is offline
Junior Member
HORRD is on a distinguished road
Name: Micheal
Joined: Mar 2011, #52390
Location: Orange County, Ca
Gender: Male
Posts: 9
HORRD's Tacoma Gallery
Subs on stock head unit?

Does it work? im strongly considering subs but dont have money for a new head unit too....will it work?
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 11:16 AM   #3
Senior Member
happyb has a spectacular aura abouthappyb has a spectacular aura about
Name: Brandon
Joined: Mar 2009, #15098
Location: on a beach in hawaii
Gender: Male
Posts: 337
happyb's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by tacooon View Post
You can get a rca converter for the headunit most sound system shop should have them
my friend has this in his tacoma and the sub sounds decent.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 11:28 AM   #4
asphinctersayswhat?
MJonAgs32 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMJonAgs32 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMJonAgs32 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMJonAgs32 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMJonAgs32 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMJonAgs32 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMJonAgs32 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMJonAgs32 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMJonAgs32 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMJonAgs32 is one of the sharper tools in the shedMJonAgs32 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
MJonAgs32's Avatar
Name: MJ
Joined: Apr 2009, #15949
Location: Union City, CA (SF Bay Area)
Age: 30
Gender: Dude
Posts: 8,455
MJonAgs32's Tacoma Gallery
LOC - line out converter
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 11:35 AM   #5
Senior Member
Pingo is a splendid one to beholdPingo is a splendid one to beholdPingo is a splendid one to beholdPingo is a splendid one to beholdPingo is a splendid one to beholdPingo is a splendid one to beholdPingo is a splendid one to behold
 
Pingo's Avatar
Joined: Jul 2008, #7826
Location: North Pole, AK
Gender: Male
Posts: 439
Pingo's Tacoma Gallery
head unit first then sub/amp. Way better option imo.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 12:55 PM   #6
Senior Member
doubletaco is just really nicedoubletaco is just really nicedoubletaco is just really nicedoubletaco is just really nicedoubletaco is just really nice
 
doubletaco's Avatar
Joined: May 2009, #16753
Location: DFW
Gender: Male
Posts: 519
doubletaco's Tacoma Gallery
I had a Kenwood KSC-SW1 subwoofer fit perfect in the drivers side rear storage bin.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 03:02 PM   #8
Senior Member
cu52 has a brilliant futurecu52 has a brilliant futurecu52 has a brilliant futurecu52 has a brilliant futurecu52 has a brilliant futurecu52 has a brilliant futurecu52 has a brilliant futurecu52 has a brilliant futurecu52 has a brilliant futurecu52 has a brilliant futurecu52 has a brilliant future
Joined: Feb 2011, #51019
Location: Rocky Mountains - Denver
Gender: Male
Posts: 125
cu52's Tacoma Gallery
line output converter similar to any of these: http://www.pac-audio.com/productSear...ut%20converter

I used the PAC Trunk-LOC discontinued now but worked great in my audi.

Get one with a remote turn on no matter what. Also if your amp does not have low pass filter, get one with a equalizer/filter on it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 03:38 PM   #9
Senior Member
thebottomline is one of the sharper tools in the shedthebottomline is one of the sharper tools in the shedthebottomline is one of the sharper tools in the shedthebottomline is one of the sharper tools in the shedthebottomline is one of the sharper tools in the shedthebottomline is one of the sharper tools in the shedthebottomline is one of the sharper tools in the shedthebottomline is one of the sharper tools in the shedthebottomline is one of the sharper tools in the shedthebottomline is one of the sharper tools in the shedthebottomline is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
thebottomline's Avatar
Joined: Nov 2010, #46203
Location: Pac NW
Gender: Male
Posts: 568
thebottomline's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhk View Post
Yes. You need a 2-channel amplifier that takes speaker-level inputs and has a low pass filter. Split your front speaker wires and run them into the amp.
I'm running my rear (ceiling) speakers spliced, works fine. Plus I like the option of changing deck settings to increase sound to the ceiling speakers and subs so I can increase the volume without the front stock speakers failing....
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 03:59 PM   #10
Senior Member
TiMe is a jewel in the roughTiMe is a jewel in the roughTiMe is a jewel in the rough
Joined: Oct 2010, #44388
Location: CA
Gender: Male
Posts: 231
TiMe's Tacoma Gallery
I just upgraded my stereo with a double din head unit but before that I had stock radio with one 12" sub. It was worth the money I spent to get it to work until I got the money to upgrade.

If your interested I have my old line out convertor(gives you RCA's to run to amp) and an ipod adapter that plugs into the cd changer port on you factory radio for sale.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 11:38 PM   #11
Senior Member
Boost JuNkY is a name known to allBoost JuNkY is a name known to allBoost JuNkY is a name known to allBoost JuNkY is a name known to allBoost JuNkY is a name known to allBoost JuNkY is a name known to all
 
Boost JuNkY's Avatar
Name: Billy
Joined: Apr 2011, #54706
Location: Vancouver, BC
Gender: Male
Posts: 350
Boost JuNkY's Tacoma Gallery
Im pretty happy with my stock HU with a 4 channel amp hooked up to the rears and a single 12"sub.
Itll sound better with aftermarket HU but I didnt wanna buy extra crap to keep the steering wheel control functional.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 07:14 AM   #12
If The World Didn't Suck, We'd All Fall Off
Rocketball is one of the sharper tools in the shedRocketball is one of the sharper tools in the shedRocketball is one of the sharper tools in the shedRocketball is one of the sharper tools in the shedRocketball is one of the sharper tools in the shedRocketball is one of the sharper tools in the shedRocketball is one of the sharper tools in the shedRocketball is one of the sharper tools in the shedRocketball is one of the sharper tools in the shedRocketball is one of the sharper tools in the shedRocketball is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
Rocketball's Avatar
Name: Scott
Joined: Mar 2009, #14869
Location: Westminster, MD
Gender: Dude
Posts: 1,519
Rocketball's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pingo View Post
head unit first then sub/amp. Way better option imo.
^^^ what he said.....

IMO it's a waste of money trying to improve the OEM head unit. Think of it as "polishing a turd".
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 07:38 AM   #13
Senior Member
xwillx93 is one of the sharper tools in the shedxwillx93 is one of the sharper tools in the shedxwillx93 is one of the sharper tools in the shedxwillx93 is one of the sharper tools in the shedxwillx93 is one of the sharper tools in the shedxwillx93 is one of the sharper tools in the shedxwillx93 is one of the sharper tools in the shedxwillx93 is one of the sharper tools in the shedxwillx93 is one of the sharper tools in the shedxwillx93 is one of the sharper tools in the shedxwillx93 is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
xwillx93's Avatar
Name: Will
Joined: Feb 2010, #31321
Location: Stuart, FL
Gender: Male
Posts: 435
xwillx93's Tacoma Gallery
seriously man, i was the same way i didnt wanna spend the money either. But im tellin you, even just the new HU can improve your system. in th elong run, you'll be so much happier you got a HU first, then you avoid going out and buying all these converters. just get a new HU, amp, then subs. sure it takes longer but its worth it and youll just have to be patiet.
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 08:16 AM   #14
Senior Member
Crownedcustoms is a glorious beacon of lightCrownedcustoms is a glorious beacon of lightCrownedcustoms is a glorious beacon of lightCrownedcustoms is a glorious beacon of lightCrownedcustoms is a glorious beacon of lightCrownedcustoms is a glorious beacon of light
Joined: Mar 2010, #32385
Location: Gilbert
Gender: Male
Posts: 178
Crownedcustoms's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhk View Post
Yes. You need a 2-channel amplifier that takes speaker-level inputs and has a low pass filter. Split your front speaker wires and run them into the amp.
Why would you want a 2 channel amp for subs?
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Stock Intake and Stock Head Unit from 2007 SR5 DC 4x4 msportworld 2nd Gen Tacoma Marketplace 2 02-04-2012 06:46 PM
Subs w/stock head unit help VissionMx Audio & Video 6 04-28-2011 05:04 AM
Subs, Amps, PA system, Head Unit , and Tires stormtrooper37 Buy / Sell / Trade 15 04-12-2011 02:29 PM
Need Help. Lost about subs, amps, speakers, and head unit. JessysBabyGirl Audio & Video 5 04-09-2011 10:24 PM
Subs with stock head unit? Big Guns Audio & Video 12 05-23-2010 09:18 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.