Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 2nd Gen. Tacomas

Notices

Garrett Turbo thoughts.

Old 05-21-2007, 12:47 PM   #1
Mudbug is on a distinguished road

Mudbug's Tacoma Gallery
Garrett Turbo thoughts.

Ok I havn't really seen much evidence of that many gearheads around here thus far. Maybe they are all hiding?
Ok so I'm probably really just talking but....I was thinking about turbocharging my Tacoma. I have a lot of experience with turbocharged vehicles and if I do this I would be selling my turbocharged car to pay for it.
Here is the plot. I have a 2007 Regular Cab 4x4 4 cylinder. Ok is this same basic engine used in any of toyota's cars? Does anyone know how tough these engines are?
Then we move on to the drivetrain issues...Does anyone know how much power the tranny, axles and rear can take?
I don't have a problem pulling 300-350hp out of a 2.7 liter engine. My car is a 1.6 and I'm getting around 250 out of it I could actually get more if I moved to a bigger compressor wheel.
So Basics...I'd probably have to either have a manifold made or make one myself, am I right? Not too difficult
Looks like plenty of room under the hood if I top mount it. Lots of room for an intercooler up front.
Injectors...Anybody know how many cc's the stockers flow? That stock fuel rail looks awfully skinny! I'm guessing i'd have to upgrade the injectors and the fuel pump, and obviously some type of stand alone fuel management system.
Turbo...i'm thinking maybe a disco potato...might be a bit small though. GT35?
I plan on keeping my gas mileage. (so long as my foot doesn't stay glued to the floor)
Ok so i'm really serious about doing this if the drivetrain can hold it. With 300 wheel hp *notice I said WHEEL HP* at 4000lbs with me and a tank of gas. So long as traction isn't too much of an issue I should be good for high 13's. That pretty quick for a 4x4 truck.

.....Maybe I should just keep my car haha.