Mike "Wuzzy121". Rest in peace, brother

Go Back   Tacoma World Forums > Tacoma Discussion > 2nd Gen. Tacomas

Notices

Running lean with trd cai,catback,s/c installed

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-22-2011, 08:32 AM   #1
Member
ottomastiff will become famous soon enough
Joined: May 2011, #57454
Location: Minneapolis
Gender: Male
Posts: 43
ottomastiff's Tacoma Gallery
Running lean with trd cai,catback,s/c installed

Hello all!

Like the title says i am running lean with trd cai,catback,s/c installed.

Getting a code po171 lean. mechanics having a tough time tracking down the cause.

Any tips or clues? Thank you much in advance. Not having my truck after mods installed is killing me!

Thanks again.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 08:48 AM   #2
pavement is boring....
lotsoftoys is one of the sharper tools in the shedlotsoftoys is one of the sharper tools in the shedlotsoftoys is one of the sharper tools in the shedlotsoftoys is one of the sharper tools in the shedlotsoftoys is one of the sharper tools in the shedlotsoftoys is one of the sharper tools in the shedlotsoftoys is one of the sharper tools in the shedlotsoftoys is one of the sharper tools in the shedlotsoftoys is one of the sharper tools in the shedlotsoftoys is one of the sharper tools in the shedlotsoftoys is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
lotsoftoys's Avatar
Name: Jace
Joined: Apr 2010, #35790
Location: Denver
Gender: Male
Posts: 5,452
lotsoftoys's Tacoma Gallery
did they do the ecm reflash? hows fuel pressure? hows ur maf reading?
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 09:01 AM   #3
Senior Member
Sproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud of
Joined: Oct 2010, #45328
Location: Canada
Gender: Male
Posts: 533
Sproulesxrunner's Tacoma Gallery
Are you running the second gen TRD CAI? If your are that is probably a problem.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 09:07 AM   #4
Member
ottomastiff will become famous soon enough
Joined: May 2011, #57454
Location: Minneapolis
Gender: Male
Posts: 43
ottomastiff's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by lotsoftoys View Post
did they do the ecm reflash? hows fuel pressure? hows ur maf reading?
They did indeed do a reflash and were checking the comp to make sure it took correctly.

I will in inquire about the fuel pressure and the maf reading. What precisely are we looking for regarding these?

Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 09:08 AM   #5
Member
ottomastiff will become famous soon enough
Joined: May 2011, #57454
Location: Minneapolis
Gender: Male
Posts: 43
ottomastiff's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sproulesxrunner View Post
Are you running the second gen TRD CAI? If your are that is probably a problem.
Any remedy?

adjustments?

thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 09:12 AM   #6
pavement is boring....
lotsoftoys is one of the sharper tools in the shedlotsoftoys is one of the sharper tools in the shedlotsoftoys is one of the sharper tools in the shedlotsoftoys is one of the sharper tools in the shedlotsoftoys is one of the sharper tools in the shedlotsoftoys is one of the sharper tools in the shedlotsoftoys is one of the sharper tools in the shedlotsoftoys is one of the sharper tools in the shedlotsoftoys is one of the sharper tools in the shedlotsoftoys is one of the sharper tools in the shedlotsoftoys is one of the sharper tools in the shed
 
lotsoftoys's Avatar
Name: Jace
Joined: Apr 2010, #35790
Location: Denver
Gender: Male
Posts: 5,452
lotsoftoys's Tacoma Gallery
well obviously have adequate fuel pressure. and make sure the maf isnt dirty and reading correct values
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 09:12 AM   #7
Senior Member
Sproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud of
Joined: Oct 2010, #45328
Location: Canada
Gender: Male
Posts: 533
Sproulesxrunner's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by ottomastiff View Post
Any remedy?

adjustments?

thanks!
I honestly don't know. When I was buying my S/C I read a bunch of threads of the new TRD CAI throwing off AFR #'s so I ended up buying a 1st gen intake. Try taking off the CAI and see if you still get the code. You have to disconnect the battery and reconnected it first though.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 09:30 AM   #8
Member
ottomastiff will become famous soon enough
Joined: May 2011, #57454
Location: Minneapolis
Gender: Male
Posts: 43
ottomastiff's Tacoma Gallery
@loft Sorry, I should have given more information. My taco is 2011, i would assume the maf sensor is clean, but i will check on that as well as the fuel pressure.

@Sproul

I would guess that the 1st generation worked for you.

Assuming that you have 2nd generation taco, was the install easy? any fitting mods you had to do?

thanks again folks!
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 09:33 AM   #9
Senior Member
Sproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud of
Joined: Oct 2010, #45328
Location: Canada
Gender: Male
Posts: 533
Sproulesxrunner's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by ottomastiff View Post
@loft Sorry, I should have given more information. My taco is 2011, i would assume the maf sensor is clean, but i will check on that as well as the fuel pressure.

@Sproul

I would guess that the 1st generation worked for you.

Assuming that you have 2nd generation taco, was the install easy? any fitting mods you had to do?

thanks again folks!
The install for the S/C or the intake? The intake is straight forward. You should easily be able to change it out in less than an hour and that is being meticulous to details.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 10:02 AM   #10
Member
ottomastiff will become famous soon enough
Joined: May 2011, #57454
Location: Minneapolis
Gender: Male
Posts: 43
ottomastiff's Tacoma Gallery
For the intake. I have the s/c already in. along with the new trd cai.

Thanks my man, i will look into it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 03:00 PM   #11
Member
ottomastiff will become famous soon enough
Joined: May 2011, #57454
Location: Minneapolis
Gender: Male
Posts: 43
ottomastiff's Tacoma Gallery
anyone else have something to add?

thanks in advance
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 07:27 AM   #12
Member
ottomastiff will become famous soon enough
Joined: May 2011, #57454
Location: Minneapolis
Gender: Male
Posts: 43
ottomastiff's Tacoma Gallery
UPDATED: all fixed!

The vacuum purge lines were backwards. and had a improper seal on the maf sensor.

Thanks all for your feedback.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 02:32 PM   #13
Member
ottomastiff will become famous soon enough
Joined: May 2011, #57454
Location: Minneapolis
Gender: Male
Posts: 43
ottomastiff's Tacoma Gallery
BLAH! drove around for about 50 miles and the check engine light is on again.

Going to go get the code read.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 03:37 PM   #14
Senior Member
Sproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud of
Joined: Oct 2010, #45328
Location: Canada
Gender: Male
Posts: 533
Sproulesxrunner's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by ottomastiff View Post
BLAH! drove around for about 50 miles and the check engine light is on again.

Going to go get the code read.
Have you tried going back to stock intake?
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 09:06 PM   #15
Member
ottomastiff will become famous soon enough
Joined: May 2011, #57454
Location: Minneapolis
Gender: Male
Posts: 43
ottomastiff's Tacoma Gallery
@sproul

the number did even out after putting in oem intake.

guess i will have to see if they will refund the cai for a older model

sigh
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2011, 06:58 AM   #16
Senior Member
Sproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud ofSproulesxrunner has much to be proud of
Joined: Oct 2010, #45328
Location: Canada
Gender: Male
Posts: 533
Sproulesxrunner's Tacoma Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by ottomastiff View Post
@sproul

the number did even out after putting in oem intake.

guess i will have to see if they will refund the cai for a older model

sigh
The old TRD model are pretty rare to find. My advice is to buy an AFE SI CAI. It is the exact same as the old TRD one but not as fancy. Then you can also buy a Coupe custom cover for it. Here is mine
Attached Thumbnails
Running lean with trd cai,catback,s/c installed-coupecover1.jpg  
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2011, 01:31 PM   #17
Member
ottomastiff will become famous soon enough
Joined: May 2011, #57454
Location: Minneapolis
Gender: Male
Posts: 43
ottomastiff's Tacoma Gallery
Nice looking case.

ITS WORKING NOW! with correct values. Stable so far. I wil be posting a vid on the mods made to make the 2nd gen work. Probably sometime next week. Thanks again for the help sproul
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tacoma running lean with TRD cold air intake fix ottomastiff Technical Chat 44 09-12-2014 03:29 PM
Feeler : trd catback & afe cai jasona250 Buy / Sell / Trade 0 04-12-2011 08:24 PM
TRD CAI + TRD Catback Exhaust; Re-tuning required/suggested? Chronism 2nd Gen. Tacomas 1 12-06-2010 07:01 PM
Is there a way to tell if my truck is running lean after CAI install? Jay238 2nd Gen. Tacomas 5 03-21-2010 08:32 AM
Anybody rockin' the TRD CAI + TRD Catback Exhaust? 283 Performance and Tuning 30 06-05-2009 10:44 PM


Copyright © 2014 Tacoma Forum. Tacoma World is not owned by, or affiliated with Toyota Motor Corporation.